Kale and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Makes raw kale enjoyable. Yup, the kale massaging made the greens a bit more tender and flavorful. I added a quarter cup of thinly sliced purple cabbage and the same of grated carrots. The rest I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is the first time I've tried kale. I was searching for a nice salad to pair with cioppino we will be serving at our neighborhood "Progressive Dinner Party". Five couples. Drinks at one house, appetizers at the next, and at our house soup and salad, before we go to the next house for an entree, and last house serves dessert. We're all excited to try new things. So, I kept hearing about this kale salad paired with seafood soup to be a good one. I made this recipe with what I had in my pantry to try it out. I used sliced almonds, and dried cranberries, no apple and no apple cider vinegar. It is tasty, and very different for me. With all the tomato-y broth in the cioppino, I think this salad will be perfect with it. I will use pine nuts, and also add bread crumbs or croutons too, or serve with a crunchy piece of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I don't know if their is a difference, but I use purple kale. Many of the reviews state that kale is difficult to deal with it it's raw state. I have not found this with purple kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
great and simple recipe. I discovered organic baby kale pre-washed at my local grocery and snapped it up. No need to massage as these tiny leaves are super tender and flavorful. I added a bit of salt anyway for flavor and think it is improved by a bit of oil. I didn't care for it when it wilted with the salt but I think that was because I used the baby leaves. Would certainly try the massage method w/"adult" kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I skipped the salt but I'd rate this 5 stars for the kale massaging idea alone! Like other reviewers, I used what I had on hand and am happy to report that chopped walnuts and dried cherries are terrific with the kale and feta. I also added some blood-orange olive oil (a favorite of mine) and have made this salad three times in the past week. Even my kale-resistant other-half didn't complain :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Love this recipe as suggested by someone I use cranberries and walnuts and may not always use the apples. I love this salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Pretty delicious! I wasn't sure what "massaging" meant- so I just put a bunch in a large bowl and started kneading it lightly with my fingers. After about a minute it started to wilt and release a bit of its liquid. At 2 minutes it had decreased in volume by almost half and was looking tasty. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts and cranberries for currants based on what I had in my fridge. I also added a tablespoon of olive oil. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My new favorite recipe! Along with my husband and kids, I love kale. But I always cook it to soften it up. No more. Salt massage it the way to go. Thanks, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ponderworks
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have to agree with some of the other posts! I would never have thought that kale served this way would be edible. I too have found it stiff and difficult to deal with. It really is the massaging that does it and I never would have believed it. I used cashews and some other nuts I had and it still came out looking and tasting great. Considering how healthful kale is and how good this recipe is, I'll be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I can see buying a lot more kale in my future! This was delicious! This was my first time preparing a raw kale dish. I use kale quite often in my raw juices, and I've had kale salad in restaurants, but I've always been a little hesitant to make it at home. Like everyone else has mentioned, the massaging makes a world of difference. DO NOT skip this step. This salad had a perfect balance of flavors….salty, nutty, sweet, and it's incredibly healthy. This would definitely impress dinner guests. A keeper for sure. It was eaten so fast I couldn't even get a picture. Thanks for the great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States