Kale and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have been trying to incorporate more dark, leafy greens into my diet but have been fighting with kale's toughness and bitterness. I had no idea that a two minute salt massage could make such a HUGE difference. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, Leslie for this fabulous recipe and especially for the priceless tip tucked inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Thank you! I've always hated kale - too coarse-textured- but have eaten it because it's good for me. That massaging does the trick and the combination is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is delicious. Thanks for sharing the tip about massaging the kale. I have disliked eating kale for years because of its taste. I will like eating every week for years to come now. I could not find currants where I live, so I used strawberries. I am not sure about the difference in taste, as I have never had currants, but it is quite good. I also substituted walnuts for pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Pretty delicious! I wasn't sure what "massaging" meant- so I just put a bunch in a large bowl and started kneading it lightly with my fingers. After about a minute it started to wilt and release a bit of its liquid. At 2 minutes it had decreased in volume by almost half and was looking tasty. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts and cranberries for currants based on what I had in my fridge. I also added a tablespoon of olive oil. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I can see buying a lot more kale in my future! This was delicious! This was my first time preparing a raw kale dish. I use kale quite often in my raw juices, and I've had kale salad in restaurants, but I've always been a little hesitant to make it at home. Like everyone else has mentioned, the massaging makes a world of difference. DO NOT skip this step. This salad had a perfect balance of flavors….salty, nutty, sweet, and it's incredibly healthy. This would definitely impress dinner guests. A keeper for sure. It was eaten so fast I couldn't even get a picture. Thanks for the great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I will use a little less salt next time though. Thanks for sharing this easy, versatile, and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Makes raw kale enjoyable. Yup, the kale massaging made the greens a bit more tender and flavorful. I added a quarter cup of thinly sliced purple cabbage and the same of grated carrots. The rest I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ponderworks
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have to agree with some of the other posts! I would never have thought that kale served this way would be edible. I too have found it stiff and difficult to deal with. It really is the massaging that does it and I never would have believed it. I used cashews and some other nuts I had and it still came out looking and tasting great. Considering how healthful kale is and how good this recipe is, I'll be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent salad; I could not believe how tender the kale became after "massaging" it. The dish was sweeter than saltier, despite the salt. I used raisins because I didn't have currants . . . but I'd definitely go with currants next time. Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I'm so excited to discover that if you massage kale it gets mild. I loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States