Kale and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I will use a little less salt next time though. Thanks for sharing this easy, versatile, and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Thank you! I've always hated kale - too coarse-textured- but have eaten it because it's good for me. That massaging does the trick and the combination is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is delicious. Thanks for sharing the tip about massaging the kale. I have disliked eating kale for years because of its taste. I will like eating every week for years to come now. I could not find currants where I live, so I used strawberries. I am not sure about the difference in taste, as I have never had currants, but it is quite good. I also substituted walnuts for pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have been trying to incorporate more dark, leafy greens into my diet but have been fighting with kale's toughness and bitterness. I had no idea that a two minute salt massage could make such a HUGE difference. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, Leslie for this fabulous recipe and especially for the priceless tip tucked inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent salad; I could not believe how tender the kale became after "massaging" it. The dish was sweeter than saltier, despite the salt. I used raisins because I didn't have currants . . . but I'd definitely go with currants next time. Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ponderworks
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have to agree with some of the other posts! I would never have thought that kale served this way would be edible. I too have found it stiff and difficult to deal with. It really is the massaging that does it and I never would have believed it. I used cashews and some other nuts I had and it still came out looking and tasting great. Considering how healthful kale is and how good this recipe is, I'll be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Pretty delicious! I wasn't sure what "massaging" meant- so I just put a bunch in a large bowl and started kneading it lightly with my fingers. After about a minute it started to wilt and release a bit of its liquid. At 2 minutes it had decreased in volume by almost half and was looking tasty. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts and cranberries for currants based on what I had in my fridge. I also added a tablespoon of olive oil. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is the first time I've tried kale. I was searching for a nice salad to pair with cioppino we will be serving at our neighborhood "Progressive Dinner Party". Five couples. Drinks at one house, appetizers at the next, and at our house soup and salad, before we go to the next house for an entree, and last house serves dessert. We're all excited to try new things. So, I kept hearing about this kale salad paired with seafood soup to be a good one. I made this recipe with what I had in my pantry to try it out. I used sliced almonds, and dried cranberries, no apple and no apple cider vinegar. It is tasty, and very different for me. With all the tomato-y broth in the cioppino, I think this salad will be perfect with it. I will use pine nuts, and also add bread crumbs or croutons too, or serve with a crunchy piece of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Makes raw kale enjoyable. Yup, the kale massaging made the greens a bit more tender and flavorful. I added a quarter cup of thinly sliced purple cabbage and the same of grated carrots. The rest I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I don't know if their is a difference, but I use purple kale. Many of the reviews state that kale is difficult to deal with it it's raw state. I have not found this with purple kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States