Kale and Cucumber Salad with Lemon Tahini Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Easy to prepares however it was bland tasting at best. While easy to make I think there are simply too many ingredients competing here. I may try again, adding some parmesan cheese and leaving out the garlic and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This could be a five-star recipe I think with these changes: sauté garlic in oil until lightly brown, then add rest of dressing ingredients and heat to boil point, pour hot dressing over prepared kale and toss. Last add sliced cucumbers, nuts and raisins and toss again. The raw garlic was overpowering to me. The hot dressing will wilt the kale also giving it a softer flavor. I'll try it this way next time and give an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Olive oil, Craisins, toasted unsalted sliver almonds & Agave sweetener.....Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Read this, and then later, made it from memory -- forgot the soy sauce, water and garlic and it still came out really good. Used crasins instead of golden raisins which I never ever have laying around since I don't like them. Probably didn't miss the garlic since I put thin strips of red onion in it too (I thought I saw that...) All said, a definite keeper and like the idea of adding avocado so will try next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Love some kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I did change it a bit by braising the kale and using regular raisins and pine nuts. I paired the kale with lentils and fresh tomato. Absolutely delectable. Also, I omitted the cucumber and used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye-Andrea Arp
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Really nice salad, although I didn't have cucumbers so I used carrots, broccoli, and avocado instead. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins, and threw in some collards that I needed to use up. I loved the dressing, and it's always nice to have a new way to use tahini. I left the sugar out of the dressing and used olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was interesting (at best), and probably very healthy - but that's about the only reason I can think of for making it again. Honestly, I think my horse might like it more than I did - and I'm a kale fan! Some of the ingredients (e.g. tahini, golden raisins, smoked slivered almonds) are not cheap & are not things that I have frequent use for - so they will probably sit in the cupboard forever. I did end up adding dried cranberries towards the end of the meal, and that was an improvement. I would suggest substituting dried cranberries instead of the golden raisins. I just found it too 'kale heavy' and would be tempted to cut the kale in half & use bok choy or napa cabbage for the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Love it! This is my first time eating kale salad so I was a little nervous about the taste but I followed the recipe as is and it tasted great. I could taste all the ingredients and it was very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States