Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This sounded so awful I had to try it! I was very pleased to find it absolutely delicious. I will probably cut the amount in half next time (and just eat the remaining banana) as it was very rich. I also used nonfat dairy milk as I had no soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is really quite amazing! We made it with regular soy milk and 1 T maple syrup, and my 10-year old daughter loved it. Her comments: "It was really not bad! I will recommend it to other people. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
this was so good the only thing i changed was the soy milk, i used vanilla rice milk because thats what i had. this is very similar to the green smoothies my mom makes. she uses 1/4 soaked date per serving as a sweetener, i think i might try that next time to eliminate some calories. i didn't think my 3 yr old would like it because of the flax seeds but he drank it right down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I use very young kale from my garden and this is a delicious recipe. The younger the kale, the sweeter the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I was like the others...it sounded so bad that I had to try it. It really is AWESOME!!! Not only does it taste good but it is VERY healthy. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I plan to try this recipe this afternoon, but have a question. I normally have a morning smoothie with grinded flaxseeds, frozen banana and blueberries....I also add some cacao nibs. For this recipe, do I grind the flaxseeds first, Ive never eaten them unground! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I enjoy the beautiful color that 2 cups of kale gives to this healthy delicious way to start the day. I have added 3 oz of yogurt, a few strawberries on occasion, but the original recipe is super. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Thank you. Thank you thank you thank you! Taking advice from previous posters, I added a little more soymilk and a teensy bit more maple syrup. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggienutzabba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I just love this smoothie! My very picky nieces decided they loved it before they realized they were having kale. They guessed that kiwi gave it its colour, and I didn't tell them otherwise. They now know my secret ingredient, and they even enjoy helping me make the smoothie, adding different fruits each time: blueberries, strawberries, mango... Kale has got to be the only leafy vegetable they eat, thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is awesome! I don't particularly like how green kale tastes, but I know that it's very good for you! This smoothie tasted wonderful with some mods like...I didn't put in the stems. Used homemade almond milk instead of soy and filled it to the 2 cup mark on my vitamix after the kale and banana were put in. Used 2 T. of agave syrup instead of maple. Added 5 ice cubes, also. This tasted great! It's so good I can't wait to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States