Kale and Adzuki Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I had it with wild rice and it was very satisfying.The spices added some nice flavor to the recipe,however, I found it too salty, even though I didn't add additional salt to the recipe. Maybe if the amount of tamari sauce was reduced, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I like this dish very much! It's very tasty! and nutritious, too! One comment for cooking Adzuki —it's taste better if you first heat the adzuki in water till the water boils and immediately drain it, then add fresh water and slowly cook until adzuki is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is a good recipe, but my adzuki beans weren't soft enough after the cooking time that was specified. I just added rice in at the end and cooked it in with the rest, came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This makes a delicious and very nutritious meal. I soak my adzuki beans overnight which helps them to soften. Reduced sodium tamari is the way to go if you don't want it to be too salty. Once I had a head of escarole and used that instead of kale. That was good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vegchic
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
For this recipe, I used less soy sauce as others noted it was salty. The recipe is a good blend of healthy veggies/beans with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful combination. I did use 2 TBS of soy sauce instead of the tamari to control the sodium content. It was filling and tasty. I served this with steamed Bamboo Rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was super excited to try this recipe. I changed it up a little based on what i like/had on hand. I added ginger along with the garlic and sauted some shiitake mushrooms before i added the kale. in addition to the other flavorings i added a little sesame oil and shichimi togarashi (a japanese red pepper blend). Like anzu, i also rinsed the beans after boiling and added fresh water. I took some leftovers to lunch the next say and just sliced up some tofu and green onions and drizzled a little soy sauce and sesame oil on the tofu. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eriko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was delicious. I didn't have adzuki beans so substituted kidney beans and it was great. Will definitely make again. Thanks Skymonkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Delicious - I had never tried adzuki beans, but now I am hooked on them! I only put in 1/2 the tamari (per other reviewer's suggestions), and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Quite tasty and a simple recipe to boot! Do not skimp on the kale, though. I feel like there's a little something missing, but overall good! I like it at room temperature for a nice lunch. Add a little bit of extra garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States