Kale and Adzuki Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Excellent. I had to cook the beans longer and didn't cook the kale as long as stated in the recipe. All in all it was fabulous - great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Oh sooo good. I had never tried Adzuki beans prior to this recipe. Looking at the previous reviews I soaked the beans prior [just like Nana taught me] and added about 1.5 tablespoons to beans while cooking them. And then added 1 tablespoon to the kale so it was just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Great potential with a few changes that were mentioned in the reviews. Beans need to soak and less Tamari, or perhaps a low sodium Tamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Quite tasty and a simple recipe to boot! Do not skimp on the kale, though. I feel like there's a little something missing, but overall good! I like it at room temperature for a nice lunch. Add a little bit of extra garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Delicious - I had never tried adzuki beans, but now I am hooked on them! I only put in 1/2 the tamari (per other reviewer's suggestions), and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was delicious. I didn't have adzuki beans so substituted kidney beans and it was great. Will definitely make again. Thanks Skymonkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was super excited to try this recipe. I changed it up a little based on what i like/had on hand. I added ginger along with the garlic and sauted some shiitake mushrooms before i added the kale. in addition to the other flavorings i added a little sesame oil and shichimi togarashi (a japanese red pepper blend). Like anzu, i also rinsed the beans after boiling and added fresh water. I took some leftovers to lunch the next say and just sliced up some tofu and green onions and drizzled a little soy sauce and sesame oil on the tofu. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eriko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful combination. I did use 2 TBS of soy sauce instead of the tamari to control the sodium content. It was filling and tasty. I served this with steamed Bamboo Rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vegchic
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
For this recipe, I used less soy sauce as others noted it was salty. The recipe is a good blend of healthy veggies/beans with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This makes a delicious and very nutritious meal. I soak my adzuki beans overnight which helps them to soften. Reduced sodium tamari is the way to go if you don't want it to be too salty. Once I had a head of escarole and used that instead of kale. That was good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States