Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have been making this soup for years. It is very good. But if you want extra flavor go to the local grocery store and find Lipton cup of green pea soup (it is a dry package soup) This makes the base of the soup rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I cut this recipe in half and wished i hadn't! So yummy. GREAT winter soup and easy to make. I left out the cabbage (forgot to buy it) and it was just as good. Used Portugese linguisa smoked linguisa instead of chourico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I make a variation of this soup, and it is delicious! I will try adding the kidney beans and peppers to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
When I made this, my wife called it "resturant quality".I added spinach, and used red and white beans for some color.A dash(or more!) of cayenne puts a little zest in it.We found we like it better if the greens are left with a little firmness, and not over-cooked. So good, and so good for you. This recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Thank You, Scotty! It's easy to tell that you are a real New Bedford guy. This was wonderful. I've been trying to find this recipe ever since my favorite restaurant on the Cape closed. "Kadee's" in Orleans had a kale soup on the menu that was so similar to your recipe. I find that it is even better if it has time to be refrigerated overnight and reheated. All I can say though is, "Wicked Good"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Tahhhhhhh bon! I'm not Portuguese, actually French-Canadian... but i grew up in New Bedford, and always got Kale Soup from my friends market the Salchicaria. Since I'm in Vegas now and a long way from home, I couldn't get good Portuguese Kale Soup out here.... my parents had sent me some Gaspar's Linguica... and found your recipe. I was able to get all my other ingredients out here... Just like home man... thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is just like my mom's Kale Soup. The only thing I changed was using Lima Beans instead of garbanzo beans. It was the way I remembered from growing up in Fairhaven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to improvise with a couple of the ingredients due to lack of local availablity but was very impressed by this hearty, very flavorful soup. The recipe seems like it would be quite flexible and easily "tweaked" to make even more recipies of delicious, economical and healthy comfort food for cold winter nights! EXCELLENT and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This soup was the best...I was so scared making it. it would barely fit into the pot...I thought for sure I was screwing it up...WOW...was I wrong...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.cookalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Sensacional! There must be some old-world mysticism at work here. The whole is far greater than the sum of all the parts. Fifteen minutes into cooking, my kitchen smelled of magic and wonder. The anticipation only made the actual ingestion that much sweeter. Well done Scotty and thank you. I owe your family members a few bottles of Vinho Verde! Obrigado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States