Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I modified this quite a bit as I am Portuguese born and raised in New Bedford, MA. I chopped 2 med. onions and minced 5 garlic cloves. I put those two ingredients in a large stock pot over 3T heated Olive Oil for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. I cubed 5 large Idaho potatoes, de-skinned and washed, I let them sit to dry out for a minute while I prepared 8 cups of buillion beef broth in a 2 quart saucepan. I added sliced Portuguese Gaspars Chourico sliced ab. 1 inch each, then chopped in quarters. Mixed that over the onion/garlic mixture for about 10minutes. Then, to this onion/garlic/oil/chourico mixture I added 1 can Red Kidney Beans, 1 can no salt diced tomatoes, 1/2t koarse salt, 1/2t black pepper. I then added the boiled over buillion mixture with 2 cups of chicken broth to onion/chourico mixture in the stock pot. I added 2 Bay leaves and brought this to a boil about 25minutes. I then added 2 T vinegar, 8ounces macaroni, the chopped potatoes and cooked additional 20 minutes and added more stock/ beef buillion boiled in water if needed. I then added washed 3 bunches of Kale and 1/2 head of cabbage thats been ripped in large bite sized pieces (do not use hard stalks) into the veggie/chourico mixture. I let it simmer and it was ready in about 20 minutes. This is absolutely delicious! My husband who hates veggies ate all of them, including the kale, cabbage and diced tomatoes!! This is a winner and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
When I made this, my wife called it "resturant quality".I added spinach, and used red and white beans for some color.A dash(or more!) of cayenne puts a little zest in it.We found we like it better if the greens are left with a little firmness, and not over-cooked. So good, and so good for you. This recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Thank You, Scotty! It's easy to tell that you are a real New Bedford guy. This was wonderful. I've been trying to find this recipe ever since my favorite restaurant on the Cape closed. "Kadee's" in Orleans had a kale soup on the menu that was so similar to your recipe. I find that it is even better if it has time to be refrigerated overnight and reheated. All I can say though is, "Wicked Good"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was really great! I don't have a Portuguese market near me, so I modified the recipe. I also added a few things for taste and nutritional value. Instead of the chourica, I used hot italian sausage. Also, instead of adding the 2 pork chops, I added beef boullion to the water in the soup to add some meaty flavor. I also added a can of condensed split pea soup with ham, which added great texture, flavor and nutritional value. Instead of the Pimenta Moida peppers, I added plenty of cayenne pepper, and also a spoonful of hot chili paste. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes. I included all of the other ingredients (onion, garlic, beans, potatoes, kale, cabbage) as written. This was a delicious, healthy, spicy, satisfying meal. I served with a loaf of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have been making this soup for years. It is very good. But if you want extra flavor go to the local grocery store and find Lipton cup of green pea soup (it is a dry package soup) This makes the base of the soup rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is just like my mom's Kale Soup. The only thing I changed was using Lima Beans instead of garbanzo beans. It was the way I remembered from growing up in Fairhaven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Tahhhhhhh bon! I'm not Portuguese, actually French-Canadian... but i grew up in New Bedford, and always got Kale Soup from my friends market the Salchicaria. Since I'm in Vegas now and a long way from home, I couldn't get good Portuguese Kale Soup out here.... my parents had sent me some Gaspar's Linguica... and found your recipe. I was able to get all my other ingredients out here... Just like home man... thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Sensacional! There must be some old-world mysticism at work here. The whole is far greater than the sum of all the parts. Fifteen minutes into cooking, my kitchen smelled of magic and wonder. The anticipation only made the actual ingestion that much sweeter. Well done Scotty and thank you. I owe your family members a few bottles of Vinho Verde! Obrigado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I make a variation of this soup, and it is delicious! I will try adding the kidney beans and peppers to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to improvise with a couple of the ingredients due to lack of local availablity but was very impressed by this hearty, very flavorful soup. The recipe seems like it would be quite flexible and easily "tweaked" to make even more recipies of delicious, economical and healthy comfort food for cold winter nights! EXCELLENT and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States