Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very tasty, but I modified it a little. I used one can red kidney beans and one can cannelini (white kidney beans). I also had thick boneless pork chops in the freezer that I needed to use, so I cut two of them into small chunks and used them instead of bone-in chops. Finally, I replaced the Pimenta Moida with two whole jalapenos that I cut long slits in to release their heat. When left whole, they're easier to remove after they've done their job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I LOVE this soup! you can put any meat you want and its good. Last time I just used those johnsonville sausages and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was really great! I don't have a Portuguese market near me, so I modified the recipe. I also added a few things for taste and nutritional value. Instead of the chourica, I used hot italian sausage. Also, instead of adding the 2 pork chops, I added beef boullion to the water in the soup to add some meaty flavor. I also added a can of condensed split pea soup with ham, which added great texture, flavor and nutritional value. Instead of the Pimenta Moida peppers, I added plenty of cayenne pepper, and also a spoonful of hot chili paste. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes. I included all of the other ingredients (onion, garlic, beans, potatoes, kale, cabbage) as written. This was a delicious, healthy, spicy, satisfying meal. I served with a loaf of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
A great soup, repeated requests for church suppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Sensacional! There must be some old-world mysticism at work here. The whole is far greater than the sum of all the parts. Fifteen minutes into cooking, my kitchen smelled of magic and wonder. The anticipation only made the actual ingestion that much sweeter. Well done Scotty and thank you. I owe your family members a few bottles of Vinho Verde! Obrigado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This soup was the best...I was so scared making it. it would barely fit into the pot...I thought for sure I was screwing it up...WOW...was I wrong...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.cookalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have been making this soup for years. It is very good. But if you want extra flavor go to the local grocery store and find Lipton cup of green pea soup (it is a dry package soup) This makes the base of the soup rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I modified this quite a bit as I am Portuguese born and raised in New Bedford, MA. I chopped 2 med. onions and minced 5 garlic cloves. I put those two ingredients in a large stock pot over 3T heated Olive Oil for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. I cubed 5 large Idaho potatoes, de-skinned and washed, I let them sit to dry out for a minute while I prepared 8 cups of buillion beef broth in a 2 quart saucepan. I added sliced Portuguese Gaspars Chourico sliced ab. 1 inch each, then chopped in quarters. Mixed that over the onion/garlic mixture for about 10minutes. Then, to this onion/garlic/oil/chourico mixture I added 1 can Red Kidney Beans, 1 can no salt diced tomatoes, 1/2t koarse salt, 1/2t black pepper. I then added the boiled over buillion mixture with 2 cups of chicken broth to onion/chourico mixture in the stock pot. I added 2 Bay leaves and brought this to a boil about 25minutes. I then added 2 T vinegar, 8ounces macaroni, the chopped potatoes and cooked additional 20 minutes and added more stock/ beef buillion boiled in water if needed. I then added washed 3 bunches of Kale and 1/2 head of cabbage thats been ripped in large bite sized pieces (do not use hard stalks) into the veggie/chourico mixture. I let it simmer and it was ready in about 20 minutes. This is absolutely delicious! My husband who hates veggies ate all of them, including the kale, cabbage and diced tomatoes!! This is a winner and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to improvise with a couple of the ingredients due to lack of local availablity but was very impressed by this hearty, very flavorful soup. The recipe seems like it would be quite flexible and easily "tweaked" to make even more recipies of delicious, economical and healthy comfort food for cold winter nights! EXCELLENT and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States