Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
My teenager didn't like this recipe at all. I gave it 2 stars because it did taste fresh and healthy. We won't be making this one again. I put less lemon as suggested by others. And when the taste wasn't so great, I added feta. That just overpowered it even more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Wonderful! I had fresh kale from my garden and needed a new salad to try, so chose this one. So glad I did. I didn't have the dried cranberries but used diced dried cherries instead and chopped walnuts instead of the sunflower seeds. W loved it. I did knead the kale with olive oil on my hands before mixing it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
This is my all-time favourite salad. I have tried it many ways and love it every time! To get the kale softer, after it's washed and dried, rub each leaf with your hands, rolling motion, and then chop to bite size (1-inch). I usually just make a small individual portion for myself for lunch, and end up not using specific measurements. For an easy and HEALTY variation, I just use lemon, honey (instead of sugar, and salt & pepper, skipping the oils for the dressing. I find it just as good, or even better than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I am thrilled that I tried this recipe and that I read every review. It is critical to massage the kale. To do this, remove the stems, put a little olive oil on your hands, and knead the kale like you would bread for about 5 minutes, or until it is a dark rich green. It's amazing how this changed the flavor. I tried the dressing, reducing the lemon as suggested to 1/4 of a cup, but this was still to tangy for my taste buds, so I ended up not using it at all. I made the dressing I make for spinach and strawberry salad, and it was great! My 14 year old loved it as well. I will definitely massage my kale in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I am 4 months pregnant and I crave this dressing! I add fresh garlic and a little bit of Apple cider vinegar as well as some flaxseed. I seriously can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Fitzpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Golfguyswife
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very good kale salad. Had to use raisins and little yellow cherry tomatoes, which was colorful actually. But used the exact recipe otherwise and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My family and I LOVE this salad. I massage the kale earlier in the day. (Look it up). I think it makes a difference. The dressing is fantastic although I admit I only use half the called for amount of fresh lemon. This is even good the next day if there is ever any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is super yummy! We added crasins and feta cheese. Those adds made the flavors balance out and all come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Jurgens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
too lemony as is. tripled sugar & doubled olive oil. then thought it was wonderful! kids didn't like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Super simple and super delicious. Did find massaging the kale is a must & thought there was too much lemon juice in the dressing ... reduced to 1/4 cup and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States