Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Huge hit even with the toddler. :). Although he eats anything. Steamed the kale in the microwave: rinse kale (don't dry) drop in a microwave safe bowl and cover with Saran wrap, lifting a corner to vent. 30 seconds or so. Lovely taste and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is amaaazzzinnggg!!! The flavor combination in this is brilliant! Avocado and feta and the occasional cool bite of cucumber or spicy red onion; the dijon and lemon is phenomenal! SOOO mouth-watering! Even my kids (four and 1.5 yrs) devoured this. I made a double batch, we were nibbling on it still warm from the quinoa. I DID keep the kale raw, to retain nutrients. I massaged and kneaded the torn up leaves with a bit of salt; and put some of them in a large plastic bag and let my kids fling it around. This is soo soo soooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was a great salad! Don't be scared of the kale. I made a half batch and sent it for lunch for my husband and myself. We both were pleasantly surprised by the great flavors in this dish. The dressing is a great complement to all of the ingredients. In the end, you barely even taste the kale, but you do reap all of the benefits of eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was an amazing and very healthy salad. Loved it! I have been asked for the recipe many times so it has been a hit with my company also. I have made it many times and have just done a couple of changes. I substitute chicken broth instead of the water to cook the quinoa in. I add cherry tomatoes cut in half to the salad and I add a little more lemon and 1 clove of garlic finely chopped to the dressing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emergingsynergy
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was deservedly a real hit at the potluck dinner. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I put more avocado (the one I used was smallish, so I used a whole one). People wished I had more dressing, but all seemed to like it. I sure did! Specifically, I was complimented on how the avocado and the feta cheese added key flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emergingsynergy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was so delicious! Thank you for sharing, Stephanie! I made it last night for the first time. I couldn't use a whole bunch of kale (it wouldn't fit in the pot), but it was more than enough for the two of us. I also steamed the kale a big longer, but before it was mushy. Also, since I don't like feta cheese, I substituted gorgonzola, which was still tasty. Next time I'll use a whole avocado and add more of the bell pepper and cucumber. Can't wait to make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Nice to see this healthy recipe here - so good. Really dislike seeing people rate a recipe even though they don't even like the main ingredient - and chose to make it even with that ingredient the lead in the title! Really a head scratcher. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
One of my favorite vegetable recipes so far. I didn't have avocado but it came out great without it. Had mango on the side and it was a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I completely changed this recipe but it was still really good. I used whole wheat couscous instead of quinoa, left out the kale, added fresh garlic, green onion instead of red, tomatoes instead of bell pepper, parmesan instead of feta, and cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made this last night and it was a huge hit with my family! The dressing was very tasty and the dish was so flavorful. This will be made again and again at our house. Thanks for sharing, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States