Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
My family loves this meal. We double the recipe to cover some of the work week meanl. Easy to fix, very tasty and make extra for great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yum! Great way to use up extra kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I like this enough for five stars, but DH said it was "okay". It is everything I look for in a recipe: simple, tasty, and healthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I think that this meal is really good, but I did add at least 2 more cups of kale greens. They add a great amount of color and nutrition. I also used no salt added tomatoes and rinsed the anchovies so that I could reduce the sodium in this recipe. I will definitely make it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Fantastic flavour! I used less oil and cheese to lighten the recipe and - traditionalists, close your eyes! - I eliminated the anchovies. Instead, add 1 Tbsp tomato paste, 1 Tbsp extra capers, 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar to cover the texture, saltiness and tang of the anchovies. Also used extra kale as others have suggested. Really delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I like this healthy approach to the recipe. I wish the pasta would have had more sauce. Also, I couldn't even taste the red pepper flakes although it was an entire teaspoon? The olives in Puttanesca are really important in my opinion to the flavor. So... don't forget them. I used regular penne, because it's what I had on hand. The sauce was a little salty, but after being mixed with the pasta it was fine. I did rinse the capers. I also added dried basil, oregano, freshly grated nutmeg (for the kale) and freshly ground fennel seed. I also used more kale. The kale is awesome. I grew it in a box outside. Thanks for the recipe. I will try making more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferC
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The entire family enjoyed this dish. I have to admit that I have never had puttanesca before so I have nothing to compare this too, but I would have liked it to have more sauce. I had doubled the tomatoes called for in the recipe, but it was still not enough for me. It was a great use for kale and I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a tasty and interesting mix of flavors. I doubled the amount of kale as well, and recommend rinsing the olives, capers and anchovies before adding them to get the extra salt off. The first time I made this it was waaaay too salty; my husband and I couldn't stop drinking big glasses of water for the next two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is my favorite recipe on All Recipes! I cook it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I work at a coffee shop that serves only vegan food cooked on the premises. We also cook 10-20 servings of each meal, so I won't account for my measurements. I try to work with whatever produce I have, which was the kale in this case. I sauteed tofu in oil, adding spices (mostly italian herbs) until the tofu was cooked. I cooked the onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes like in the recipe. I added crushed tomatoes and lots of spices and Italian seasoning. I added the Kale and used penne pasta. This came out delicious! This is a great recipe to reference even if you don't have all the ingredients. And guess what puttanesca mean??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha_bakez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States