Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was lovely. I doubled the kale, used kalamata and green olives instead of black, and rinsed the achovies. Delishious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen chopped spinach instead of kale, kalamata olives since I think their flavor is so much better than black olives, and a little anchovy paste instead of anchovy fillets to "hide" them from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was fantastic and so easy to make! Kale is so nutritious that I've been looking for more recipes using it. I was worried the anchovy would overpower the dish, but its flavor just blended in and added to the delicious flavor. This is definitely a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Holey Yum! Needed to use up some extra kale in the fridge and this was a perfect choice. Didn't have anchovies, but based on another review's suggestion, used balsamic and tomato paste instead. Loved the combination of flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
double the kale and this is the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I wasn't sure initially how the kale would work, but the recipe turned out quite well and we enjoyed the flavors. Like others suggested, I doubled the kale. I also halved the anchovies (and didn't rinse them) and used green olives instead, both of which provided plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was my first time using kale. I substituted a can of albacore tuna for the anchovies and doubled the amount of diced tomatoes. It turned out great! I was very pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We loved this recipe! I needed to use up half a bunch of kale so I doubled the amount of kale (as others suggested) when I made it. Leftovers are also tasty! One reviewer suggested rinsing the anchovies before adding them - I agree! However, if you are not partial to anchovies - you don't really taste them a lot so no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I work at a coffee shop that serves only vegan food cooked on the premises. We also cook 10-20 servings of each meal, so I won't account for my measurements. I try to work with whatever produce I have, which was the kale in this case. I sauteed tofu in oil, adding spices (mostly italian herbs) until the tofu was cooked. I cooked the onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes like in the recipe. I added crushed tomatoes and lots of spices and Italian seasoning. I added the Kale and used penne pasta. This came out delicious! This is a great recipe to reference even if you don't have all the ingredients. And guess what puttanesca mean??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha_bakez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is my favorite recipe on All Recipes! I cook it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States