Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was fantastic and so easy to make! Kale is so nutritious that I've been looking for more recipes using it. I was worried the anchovy would overpower the dish, but its flavor just blended in and added to the delicious flavor. This is definitely a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Holey Yum! Needed to use up some extra kale in the fridge and this was a perfect choice. Didn't have anchovies, but based on another review's suggestion, used balsamic and tomato paste instead. Loved the combination of flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
double the kale and this is the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I wasn't sure initially how the kale would work, but the recipe turned out quite well and we enjoyed the flavors. Like others suggested, I doubled the kale. I also halved the anchovies (and didn't rinse them) and used green olives instead, both of which provided plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was my first time using kale. I substituted a can of albacore tuna for the anchovies and doubled the amount of diced tomatoes. It turned out great! I was very pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We loved this recipe! I needed to use up half a bunch of kale so I doubled the amount of kale (as others suggested) when I made it. Leftovers are also tasty! One reviewer suggested rinsing the anchovies before adding them - I agree! However, if you are not partial to anchovies - you don't really taste them a lot so no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I work at a coffee shop that serves only vegan food cooked on the premises. We also cook 10-20 servings of each meal, so I won't account for my measurements. I try to work with whatever produce I have, which was the kale in this case. I sauteed tofu in oil, adding spices (mostly italian herbs) until the tofu was cooked. I cooked the onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes like in the recipe. I added crushed tomatoes and lots of spices and Italian seasoning. I added the Kale and used penne pasta. This came out delicious! This is a great recipe to reference even if you don't have all the ingredients. And guess what puttanesca mean??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha_bakez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is my favorite recipe on All Recipes! I cook it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a tasty and interesting mix of flavors. I doubled the amount of kale as well, and recommend rinsing the olives, capers and anchovies before adding them to get the extra salt off. The first time I made this it was waaaay too salty; my husband and I couldn't stop drinking big glasses of water for the next two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferC
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The entire family enjoyed this dish. I have to admit that I have never had puttanesca before so I have nothing to compare this too, but I would have liked it to have more sauce. I had doubled the tomatoes called for in the recipe, but it was still not enough for me. It was a great use for kale and I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States