Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was a little surprised how easy this was to make, and it tasted great! I did double the amount of kale, and used a can of anchovy fillets in olive oil with capers. I used some of that excess oil to saute the garlic and red pepper flakes which added a nice anchovy flavor without all of the extra salt. Some people commented that this was very salty, but I think using anchovies in oil tempered the saltiness, so I will definitely make it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
What an interesting and appealing blend of flavors! After mixing in the pasta, I was concerned that there were too many noodles for the amount of sauce, but it turns out that the sauce is so flavorful that a little goes a long way. I rinsed the anchovies, as another reviewer recommended, and the dish definitely was not lacking in salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We receive lots of kale from our CSA and I'm always looking for new ways to use it. This is a great healthy dish that everyone enjoyed. I didn't have anchovy and the dish was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
this was delicious. i had some kale leftover after making zuppa toscana so i did an ingredient search and found this. i made this at my mom's to go with some grilled salmon. i used anchovy paste so my younger sister would eat it. everyone loved it. it was so good it could stand on its own as a main dish with some crusty bread. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I really deviated, but it came out nice anyhow. Not bad for a strange combination of ingredients. I didn't have capers, and I substituted a can of tuna for anchovies. Didn't have tomatoes, so I used some tomato juice instead. I sauteed the onions in coconut oil because I don't have butter. It all still tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japangela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was lovely. I doubled the kale, used kalamata and green olives instead of black, and rinsed the achovies. Delishious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen chopped spinach instead of kale, kalamata olives since I think their flavor is so much better than black olives, and a little anchovy paste instead of anchovy fillets to "hide" them from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was fantastic and so easy to make! Kale is so nutritious that I've been looking for more recipes using it. I was worried the anchovy would overpower the dish, but its flavor just blended in and added to the delicious flavor. This is definitely a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Holey Yum! Needed to use up some extra kale in the fridge and this was a perfect choice. Didn't have anchovies, but based on another review's suggestion, used balsamic and tomato paste instead. Loved the combination of flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
double the kale and this is the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States