Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was fantastic! I need more recipes like this - fast, simple, healthy and delicious. I doubled the kale as suggested in other reviews, because we are drowning in kale from our CSA boxes. I skipped the anchovies because I don't eat fish and added an extra tablespoon of capers instead. My boyfriend requested less red pepper flakes next time, but I think he was being a big baby so I still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was awesome. I couldn't do it exactly as written because I didn't have all the stuff, but I think it would have been even better as written. I had to sub canned mushrooms for the canned olives, and I misread the amount so I had a lot of extra mushrooms. I also didn't have any anchovies. I used whole-wheat penne instead of angel hair, and I subbed chili powder and cayenne for the red pepper flakes. My diced tomatoes were 'italian style'. Anyway, we enjoyed the pasta with kale. Given my subs, I didn't have any trouble with it being too salty but I can see how other reviewers would get a too-salty sauce. You would definitely want to go short on the sauce with a salty sauce. Definitely will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was a great recipe, and I'll be making it again! I've been looking for more ways to use kale, because it is so healthy and easy to grow. I used penne pasta, a pint of home-canned tomatoes, and 8 oz of homemade sauce, and added broccoli and peas for extra veggie punch, and omitted the capers and achovies. This is very hearty for a vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was a little surprised how easy this was to make, and it tasted great! I did double the amount of kale, and used a can of anchovy fillets in olive oil with capers. I used some of that excess oil to saute the garlic and red pepper flakes which added a nice anchovy flavor without all of the extra salt. Some people commented that this was very salty, but I think using anchovies in oil tempered the saltiness, so I will definitely make it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
What an interesting and appealing blend of flavors! After mixing in the pasta, I was concerned that there were too many noodles for the amount of sauce, but it turns out that the sauce is so flavorful that a little goes a long way. I rinsed the anchovies, as another reviewer recommended, and the dish definitely was not lacking in salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We receive lots of kale from our CSA and I'm always looking for new ways to use it. This is a great healthy dish that everyone enjoyed. I didn't have anchovy and the dish was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
this was delicious. i had some kale leftover after making zuppa toscana so i did an ingredient search and found this. i made this at my mom's to go with some grilled salmon. i used anchovy paste so my younger sister would eat it. everyone loved it. it was so good it could stand on its own as a main dish with some crusty bread. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I really deviated, but it came out nice anyhow. Not bad for a strange combination of ingredients. I didn't have capers, and I substituted a can of tuna for anchovies. Didn't have tomatoes, so I used some tomato juice instead. I sauteed the onions in coconut oil because I don't have butter. It all still tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japangela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was lovely. I doubled the kale, used kalamata and green olives instead of black, and rinsed the achovies. Delishious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen chopped spinach instead of kale, kalamata olives since I think their flavor is so much better than black olives, and a little anchovy paste instead of anchovy fillets to "hide" them from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States