Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
So surprised this wasn't better. 'Much improved with the parmesan cheese, & since I increased kale & tomatoes, more red pepper; but still ... kinda wondered why I made it ... Oh, yeah, to use up the kale I had. :D It wasn't bad, just got that "sooo?" reaction. :/ I'll keep lookin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I would give this 2.5 stars if that were an option. The ingredients didn't come together as I had imagined, even though I stayed pretty true to the recipe (just subbed salmon for anchovy). I hope my roommate likes it because I have a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is an excellent, economical and easy weeknight dinner option! We love kale/greens and have been aiming to have at least one meat-free dinner per week. I made this last night and it is definitely making it on the rotation! As written, the salty items may have been overpowering... I used just less than half the anchovies and capers called for and about 2 Tbsp of chopped kalamata olives. Like many other reviewers, I increased the kale - about 7 Cups - and sauteed it first in the onion/garlic/anchovies/capers before adding the tomatoes and a splash of dry white wine. I also used a half cup or so of the cooking water when adding the pasta to create a bit more "sauce". I used a protein-added whole grain pasta to truly make this a one-dish meal. Thanks so much for this idea and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
not great. anchovies were too overpowering, need more sauce so as not to be so dry. just didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Love it! I'm a vegan and this recipe is super easy to make vegan and a great way to eat some kale without it being too overwhelmingly "kale-y."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
made this tonight and it was fantastic!!!.Fresh Kale is available at the farmers markets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
excellent flavor... i did add some red wine during the simmer stage with some fresh tomato and thickened it up a bit to serve over the pasta. used linquini in place. will definaely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I didn't have the anchovy filets, but substituted canned tuna....increased the pepper flakes slightly, as well as the capers and the kale (doubled it). All in all I enjoyed this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use red kale and found this. My son and I were doing the cooking and wanted to do something with less salt, so we improvised. We used mushrooms and black and green olives instead of the capers, onions and anchovies with two large cans of crushed tomato and sprouted grain pasta. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was delish! I followed the recipe, but I'm not a fan of Anchovies, so I used some anchovy paste to add some flavor and texture. It was perfect. We belong to a CSA so we will be getting a lot of Kale this summer and I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States