Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this with 20 cherry tomatoes cut in half and a 8oz can of tomato sauce. Turned out great!!! I used green olives too, and less...because SOMEBODY in my family does not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
As I was plugging away I decided it needed more tomatoes. I added the whole large can and a jar of homemade tomato sauce. It was very much needed because I used a whole head of kale. Kale needs to be very finely chopped in a recipe like this because it is tough and doesn't soften like spinach would. I only used half can of anchovies because I was afraid it would take over. I could have used the whole can, it was fine. This is a salty dish so if you're not a salt lover beware. My family enjoyed this meal. Thanks for sharing Misha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used sardines instead of anchovies (just did not have anchovies). In the future I will not use as much red pepper flakes (maybe 1/3 as much). I'd add more Kale and would add mushrooms and possibly a little tofu. Delicious and nutritious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Anchovies made it super fishy and overpowering despite my rinsing them thoroughly. The texture was great but the offensive fish odor and taste were so potent that I couldnt finish what was on my plate, my wife couldnt take more than 2 bites. If I removed the anchovies I gaurantee this could be at least a 4 because everything else went together great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've never bought anchovies before in my life and wasn't sure if I'd like them or not, so this was a new experience. I threw them in the food processor to hide them from my kids, though. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. My kids gobbled it up! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a wonderfully satisfying dish. I, however, used chopped, bagged Kale which was a mistake. Whole leaf kale with the main rib removed is critical. I used regular pasta because I think whole wheat pasta is vile! I would not make this recipe with any pasta other than angle hair. I think heavier pasta would take away from the dish. For those who aren't into anchovies - not to worry! The flavor imparted is very subtle (and necessary) and not at all "smelly fish" as some might think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockfishrobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I changed the recipe a tiny bit. Instead of using diced tomatoes I cooked down a bunch of Heriloom tomatoes. I omitted the anchovies. I servied it over butternut-squash pasta. The dish was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
For a vegetarian version I substituted Dulce (salty seaweed) for the anchovies - wow it was really good!! Also added more garlic because that's the way uh-hu uh-hu I like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe for kale, and I discovered Puttanesca. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
So surprised this wasn't better. 'Much improved with the parmesan cheese, & since I increased kale & tomatoes, more red pepper; but still ... kinda wondered why I made it ... Oh, yeah, to use up the kale I had. :D It wasn't bad, just got that "sooo?" reaction. :/ I'll keep lookin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States