Kale Orange Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was delicious! I used two cups of fresh spinach in place of the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Simple, easy to make! Tastes smooth and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Like a couple of the other reviewers, I needed a way to incorporate kale into my diet...and this smoothie recipe fits the bill! The banana and orange flavors tame the bitterness of kale, and the end result is a palate-pleasing drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I've been trying to add some kale to our diets. This is a great way to use it as it takes the bitterness away. I've made this recipe twice now. First time as written, and it was good but thick and not real cold. The second time I made it I added ice cubes. I liked it with the ice cubes better as it was a little thinner and it was cold. I'm sure this would be good made with spinach also. Thanks Georgina for sharing this quick breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The flavor of this is really good. However, I do think it needs added ice (or use frozen bananas). I made the recipe as-is (except I used oat milk in place of water, and added a spoonful of chia seeds for an added nutritional boost), and it definitely didn't get anywhere near pudding consistency. If you're going to make this, don't add any additional liquid until after you've made it. I think most people won't want added liquid. Also, I highly recommend the chia seeds! Not just for the nutritional boost, but they give smoothies a frothy and creamy texture that is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I was surprised, but I thought this tasted good. I only had 1/2 orange, so I halved the other ingredients but accidentally kept the water amount the same. I think it was a good mistake, because it was still kind of thick. Like, kellieann I used spinach as it was what I had. I used a small handful. I may make this again. It is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is good as is...OR you can really add whatever you would like. Add more fruit and/or yogurt and less water if you like your drink thicker. More water if you like it more of a juice consistency. Pineapple is an awesome addition, as is mango. These two fruits are amazing with oranges and bananas. Peaches...Just start throwing things in. And sub different greens for the kale, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Love this smoothie! One of my morning favorites. I used spinach instead of kale and the orange unpeeled. I've even added pineapple to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I really wanted to like this, but I found it to be only okay. Mine never got very thick (definitely not pudding consistency), and I substituted part of the water for ice (which should have made it thicker). The flavor wasn't bad, but it didn't have a lot of definite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I held off on the water based on other reviewers comments and I was glad I did. This was thick and smooth. The primary taste is banana - don't really get the orange which I would like to have tasted more. Maybe I'll add some orange zest next time too. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States