Kale Orange Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was very good. I was looking for something to use up some fruit and kale. I used more kale intentionally, but it was still very good. My family was surprised they liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My very first taste of kale...and I can't even taste it! lol. Delicious, and tastes exactly like an orange-banana smoothie, with some texture. I can definitely see myself drinking this every morning, and can't wait to change up the fruits a little with each drink. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I held off on the water based on other reviewers comments and I was glad I did. This was thick and smooth. The primary taste is banana - don't really get the orange which I would like to have tasted more. Maybe I'll add some orange zest next time too. Overall, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The flavor of this is really good. However, I do think it needs added ice (or use frozen bananas). I made the recipe as-is (except I used oat milk in place of water, and added a spoonful of chia seeds for an added nutritional boost), and it definitely didn't get anywhere near pudding consistency. If you're going to make this, don't add any additional liquid until after you've made it. I think most people won't want added liquid. Also, I highly recommend the chia seeds! Not just for the nutritional boost, but they give smoothies a frothy and creamy texture that is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My first green smoothie and I loved it. I tried it again not peeling the orange as one reviewer suggested and I hated it. Couldn't get rid of that orange zest...extremely strong flavor... out of my mouth. A little zest goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I liked this! I added vanilla soy milk to make it thinner and easier to drink, and also a TBL of flaxseed. I only used half a banana and about 3/4 cup of kale. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is good as is...OR you can really add whatever you would like. Add more fruit and/or yogurt and less water if you like your drink thicker. More water if you like it more of a juice consistency. Pineapple is an awesome addition, as is mango. These two fruits are amazing with oranges and bananas. Peaches...Just start throwing things in. And sub different greens for the kale, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I feel like if I was a bigger health nut this would have been more delicious, however found it very hard to get the few sips I had down. I may try it again with some vanilla yogurt or some almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Love this smoothie! One of my morning favorites. I used spinach instead of kale and the orange unpeeled. I've even added pineapple to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I really wanted to like this, but I found it to be only okay. Mine never got very thick (definitely not pudding consistency), and I substituted part of the water for ice (which should have made it thicker). The flavor wasn't bad, but it didn't have a lot of definite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States