Kale Krisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
YUM. I had been wanting to try kale chips, and then I saw this recipe. I rinsed and ripped up the kale and threw the pieces into a bowl. I poured in a small amount of olive oil and mixed it up so all the pieces were coated. Then I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I spread the pieces onto parchment paper on a baking sheet and baked them for 10 minutes at 350. I pulled the pan out, flipped them over, added the cheese, and then baked for another 4-5 minutes. They came out great! YUM! I think I will make them again tonight because I still have plenty of kale leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Oh my gosh! I was so shocked at how good this was. I forgot to spray the pan, so I added a little olive oil to the top. I was skeptical, so I only made half of the bunch of kale, but immediately went back to make more. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
On impulse I bought a 1 pound bag of kale in the produce aisle; never had kale in my life. So glad I found this recipe! The kale was prewashed and cut into small pieces. All I had to do was tear off a few stems here and there and spread the kale out onto the sprayed baking sheets. Then I sprayed the kale with cooking spray and sprinkled with seasoned salt and garlic powder before topping the kale with cheese. I had a cheddar/jack mix. I took it from the oven too soon thinking it was going to burn; but I put it back in because it was not crisp. After the ten minutes I took it out and it was crisp and delicious! Make sure to bake long enough to make it crispy and you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was really good. I didn't bother to shred my kale so much - the curls in the leaves 'caught' the the cheese really well. I also sprinkled salt, pepper and garlic powder on top as well as the cheese. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was surprisingly simple and very good. You have to like the flavor of kale. I did just as the recipe called for and used a few different kinds of cheese. Be careful, there is a fine line between crispy and burned, but even a little over done is still pretty good. Tearing the kale was a little time consuming, but the result was great and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Line the cookie sheet/s with parchment paper and spray with cooking spray(any flavor). Kale must be dry-use your salad spinner or blot dry with paper towels. Sprinkle kale with salt and pepper and any herbs/seasonings desired. Then sprinkle cheese on top and spray again. Bake as directed until crisp but not burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My whole family liked this. My daughter and I liked it better without cheese, until my son added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Surprisingly delicious. Even my 11 year old loved it. I sprinkled sea salt, pepper and garlic powder over chopped kale leaves then topped with a mix of shredded jack/colby and mozzarella cheeses. I used a plastic box of precut kale, which filled one baking sheet after I chopped it up. I used probably a cup of cheese sprinkled on top. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good. I used a chopping knife to get it down to small pieces. I tossed it lightly with some olive oil & butter. I put down parchment paper instead of spraying the sheet. I just sprinkled the cheese on top of each pile. Note: make big heaping piles bc it bakes down significantly. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I couldn't really follow amounts and don't know what a bunch of kale is as I just had a big bag of prewashed so I just barely covered the baking sheet I used with the kale and then sprinkled it with enough cheese to glue it together. I did watch it rather carefully towards the end and waited until it was a nice golden brown before removing it from the oven. A bit longer then the 10 minutes in the original recipe. I'm sure everyone's ovens are different and that should be taken into account. This is a great way to get nutritous greens into kids. This definitely is a do-over recipe for me. Can't wait to play with the ingredients a bit too, parmesan, different spices, etc. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States