Kale Cranberry Pepita Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My husband loved this and I thought it was pretty good and looking forward to the leftovers. I did make some tweaks: halved the dressing. Used Allspice instead of ginger because that is what I had on hand. I also added a little bit of Splenda based on other comments about needing to balance the acid of the vinegar. I topped with some goat cheese crumbles right before serving because that makes everything better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I generally find that I am completely on board with other reviewers, but I flip-flopped between giving this recipe three stars and four stars. I love kale and eat a lot of it in various forms, but this recipe (which I made with freshly squeezed orange juice) was just a bit too tart for me. I ended up sprinkling sugar over the salad when serving it in an effort to sweeten it up a bit. I think that this recipe is well-done if this is the flavour you are seeking (hence the four stars rather than three), but I personally didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Can't eat enough of it, it's my favorite salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Myrick
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I feel bad giving a lower rating and I'm not new to kale but I felt this was in need of some sweetness. I added a small amount of agave otherwise we would have likely not eaten it. I found the red wine vinegar harsh and fresh OJ is a must to help the balance. Also must sit overnight. Portions are very small if serving 4 as the kale wilts down. I did like the idea of the nuts,seeds and fruit. Thanks sydneyt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this, but I think it should be stated to use FRESH OJ in this. I used bottled, and think fresh would have added the nice sweetness this needed for me... Good overall..will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I just had this salad from a local grocery store and loved it! I was so excited to find the recipe. I think this will be included in my Easter dinner. It's deliciously fresh and flavorful. The cranberries and the hint of citrus from the orange juice paired so well that it brought out all the other flavors beautifully! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I've never tried the "grocery store salad" but have coworkers who rave about a specific one that sounds very similar. This is OUTSTANDING! We love kale, and wilting it in this salad gives us another way to enjoy it. My 11 year old daughter is excited to pack this in her lunch for tomorrow. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States