Kale, Apple, Avocado, and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Per the other suggestions, I made this with honey instead of the maple syrup and let it sit in the dressing for a bit before serving. Huge hit at the party! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I know this is definitely healthy but I need something to soften the stiffness (lack of a better word) of the kale. Most kale salads that appeal to me are drizzled with a hot oil to wilt the kale slightly and then sprinkled with a light dusting of finely shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband and I were invited to another couples place for dinner and when I asked her what I could bring, she said salad. I didn't want to bring just a plain old garden salad so I went on the search for something a little fancier. Along came this recipe to my inbox like an food angel! This was actually my first time using kale so I was a a little nervous as I had heard talk about bitterness and such. I doubled the recipe and did pretty much exactly what it read. The salad was a huge hit with our friends as well as my husband! I enjoyed it as well but found that I may have used a bit too much of the apple cider vinegar as I found it a little overpowering but no one else seemed to feel that way. Will definetly make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have made this salad about 10 times now for various people, and they all love it - even my picky teenagers! The only change I make is to use dijon mustard instead of yellow mustard because I think it tastes much better. Also, as someone else said here, only half the recommended dressing is needed. This salad has become a staple of our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! But I made a few changes. I used shrimp instead of bacon, white vinegar, and yellow mustard. I also omitted the apples. Besides that, it was quick and easy! The dressing was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by senneff7
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
SOOO good! I'm always looking for new ways to use kale, as I get lots of it from my produce coop. I could eat this every day! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was yummy! I find raw kale to be a bit coarse, so I used finely shredded baby kale and tossed it with the dressing about an hour before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good. Great toppings of almonds, bacon, and avo. Made exactly as written but next time I will replace the maple syrup with honey and use a balsamic vinegar. The maple was a bit overpowering for me. Also needs another softer green like spinach or baby romaine. Since I knew kale was going to be much firmer, I added the dressing early -- about 20 minutes before serving to make sure it added a lot of flavor. Definite potential here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Didn't use the exact dressing recipe because I already had one made that was similar. We're new to kale but finding it to be quite tasty and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a great simple salad! Omitted the avocado (didn't have one), but added about 1/4 shredded aged white cheddar. Tossed with half the dressing and that was plenty. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States