Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Great flavor! After marinating overnight, I cooked them with the marinade in a crock pot on low for 8 hours. I wasn't convinced that straight to grill would be good, all short ribs recipes I had required slow cooking. The crockpot made the beef so tender. I intended to grill after cooking but didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried this and the whole family loived it. Those of you who thought it tough should probably try to brine you meat first 8 hours or overnight. (3/4 cup kosher salt, 3/4 cup sugar, and dissolve in 1 cup boiling water. To this add 1 gallon cold water). The sauce is excellent and will try it on pork chops this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was so good. The aroma and the taste, we were licking our fingers, it was yum yum good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Terrible, might have been the ribs I bought but they were tough and they just had a horrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe and the only thing I did differently was cook them covered in a 400degree oven for 1 hr because it was raining outside. I couldn't wait for the veggies and mac and cheese to finish cooking because when I taste-checked the ribs for doneness, they were so darn good that I snatched one out of the pan and ate it up! I refer to them as "award winning". I'll bet they are totally awesome on an outdoor grill.-CharleneB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blarlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delicious. Made easy with bottled marinade; Trader Joe's Island Soyaki Sauce. Low-and-slow-cooked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was the first time I have ever made ribs at home (besides cooking in a dining facility) and I decided to prepare them using this recipe and they came out superb. Although the recipe says to grill ribs, I let mine bake in the oven for 1 1/2 hours instead. I felt like I was eating at a chinese restaurant after trying these. At first I thought about adding honey to sauce, because I was concerned about soy sauce giving ribs a salty flavor, but decided to prepare as is and was surprise at how well the flavors blended together. I am looking forward to preparing this again in the near future. Thank very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used this sauce and boneless short ribs in the crock pot. Served over rice. Fantastic! one of our new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've used this recipe a handful of times. Each time I made it, everyone raved about the ribs, even scooping up the last drop of juice and and pouring it over their rice. Since I do not have a grill, I cooked the ribs in the oven. I used aluminum foil to seal the ribs like a tent and gave it more of a steam effect so that they came out very tender; the meat was falling off of the bones. I cooked it in 400 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Used the marinade for a flank steak. Fantastic! Such good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States