Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Great flavor! After marinating overnight, I cooked them with the marinade in a crock pot on low for 8 hours. I wasn't convinced that straight to grill would be good, all short ribs recipes I had required slow cooking. The crockpot made the beef so tender. I intended to grill after cooking but didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried this and the whole family loived it. Those of you who thought it tough should probably try to brine you meat first 8 hours or overnight. (3/4 cup kosher salt, 3/4 cup sugar, and dissolve in 1 cup boiling water. To this add 1 gallon cold water). The sauce is excellent and will try it on pork chops this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was so good. The aroma and the taste, we were licking our fingers, it was yum yum good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Terrible, might have been the ribs I bought but they were tough and they just had a horrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe and the only thing I did differently was cook them covered in a 400degree oven for 1 hr because it was raining outside. I couldn't wait for the veggies and mac and cheese to finish cooking because when I taste-checked the ribs for doneness, they were so darn good that I snatched one out of the pan and ate it up! I refer to them as "award winning". I'll bet they are totally awesome on an outdoor grill.-CharleneB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blarlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delicious. Made easy with bottled marinade; Trader Joe's Island Soyaki Sauce. Low-and-slow-cooked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was the first time I have ever made ribs at home (besides cooking in a dining facility) and I decided to prepare them using this recipe and they came out superb. Although the recipe says to grill ribs, I let mine bake in the oven for 1 1/2 hours instead. I felt like I was eating at a chinese restaurant after trying these. At first I thought about adding honey to sauce, because I was concerned about soy sauce giving ribs a salty flavor, but decided to prepare as is and was surprise at how well the flavors blended together. I am looking forward to preparing this again in the near future. Thank very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used this sauce and boneless short ribs in the crock pot. Served over rice. Fantastic! one of our new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've used this recipe a handful of times. Each time I made it, everyone raved about the ribs, even scooping up the last drop of juice and and pouring it over their rice. Since I do not have a grill, I cooked the ribs in the oven. I used aluminum foil to seal the ribs like a tent and gave it more of a steam effect so that they came out very tender; the meat was falling off of the bones. I cooked it in 400 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Used the marinade for a flank steak. Fantastic! Such good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States