Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I mostly can only rate the marinade because I used a different cut of meat. Beef chuck flanken style ribs. Marinaded it for a good 6 hours. Actually thickened the marinade that was left and cooked it with some asian style veggies. Daughter and boyfriend rate it 5 stars! Me too! This is my kitchen approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this was FANTASTIC. I followed the recipe exactly, and served as suggested - rolled in romaine lettuce leaves, with rice, browned garlic, and hot chili paste. My husband is still talking about this meal days later, thats how I know it was a hit. (my 3 year old also polished off the rest of the meat plain after we finished our rolls!) I just had plain old beef short ribs (bought at Wegmans) in the freezer, and found this recipe to use them in. Its always so nice when a "new" meal turns out to be such a success!! Thanks so much, my husband is already after me to make this again as soon as possible! And, I will have to double the recipe next time! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
was awesome...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
wonderful!!! my family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this recipe is very tasty. i used boneless shortribs and marinated in a ziplock bag for 2 days in the fridge and did not add water. i did not have any green onions on hand and subbed minced yellow onion. i also put these under the broiler and cooked to medium. They were delicious! i sliced the meat thin and as suggested, rolled them in romaine lettuce leaves and chili paste and ate with white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe came out great!! The marinade gives it the right amount of flavor, giving you a savory taste of the marinade and beef! It uses very simple ingredients found in your kitchen. I used thin boneless ribs and also added chopped round onions and toasted sesame seeds into the marinade and soaked it overnight. The next evening i fried it on a frying pan. Once the meat was cooked, i wrapped it with lettuce and ate them in mouthfuls. So simple, but so... great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My husbands favorite! We use equal parts fresh ginger and garlic, less sesame oil, increase soyu and brown sugar and omit the water. Good marinade for any kind of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very close to the recipe I got when I lived in Hawaii. I doubled the garlic and green onion. Very good marinade for chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These were awesome. Followed the recipe exactly. Used boneless ribs. The extra thing I did was after I marinaded the ribs for 36 hours, I poured it all in a saucepan - boiled it and then cooked it slow for an hour to reduce it to a thick sauce. Used that to glaze the ribs while they were on the grill. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States