Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Followed it exactly but I baked mine in the oven at 375 for 20 mins and then turned on the broiler for about 5 mins. The meat came out very juicy w/ a little char on the edges just like if it was made on the grill! Next time I might either half or completely omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These were awesome. Followed the recipe exactly. Used boneless ribs. The extra thing I did was after I marinaded the ribs for 36 hours, I poured it all in a saucepan - boiled it and then cooked it slow for an hour to reduce it to a thick sauce. Used that to glaze the ribs while they were on the grill. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. I make this dish quite often and usually marinate the meat with rice wine(if you don't have it you can use red wine or beer) and a cup of grated apple or kiwi or pineapple or pear first for a couple of hours before marinating it with other ingredients. This really makes a lot of difference. It makes the meat so tender and juicy. Koreans usually use fruit to marinate meat and this way you don't have to put too much sugar. I also season it with salt and pepper ( a pinch of salt and about a teaspoon of pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I read the previous reviews and followed two of the suggestions. 1. I cooked the ribs at 375 for 20 min then broiled them for 5 min. 2. After marinading the meat I boiled the left over marinade, then reduced it to a simmer until the marinade reduced to a glaze, which we added to the ribs after cooking. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wow. If this is Korean BBQ then American BBQ needs to learn a few things from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I mostly can only rate the marinade because I used a different cut of meat. Beef chuck flanken style ribs. Marinaded it for a good 6 hours. Actually thickened the marinade that was left and cooked it with some asian style veggies. Daughter and boyfriend rate it 5 stars! Me too! This is my kitchen approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this recipe is very tasty. i used boneless shortribs and marinated in a ziplock bag for 2 days in the fridge and did not add water. i did not have any green onions on hand and subbed minced yellow onion. i also put these under the broiler and cooked to medium. They were delicious! i sliced the meat thin and as suggested, rolled them in romaine lettuce leaves and chili paste and ate with white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! Followed the recipe exact and I wouldn't change a single thing...thanks for submitting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
was awesome...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I delete a 1/4 cup of water and added 1/4 cup FRESH pineapple juice. It was delicious and the hubs said it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States