Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Followed it exactly but I baked mine in the oven at 375 for 20 mins and then turned on the broiler for about 5 mins. The meat came out very juicy w/ a little char on the edges just like if it was made on the grill! Next time I might either half or completely omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These were awesome. Followed the recipe exactly. Used boneless ribs. The extra thing I did was after I marinaded the ribs for 36 hours, I poured it all in a saucepan - boiled it and then cooked it slow for an hour to reduce it to a thick sauce. Used that to glaze the ribs while they were on the grill. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. I make this dish quite often and usually marinate the meat with rice wine(if you don't have it you can use red wine or beer) and a cup of grated apple or kiwi or pineapple or pear first for a couple of hours before marinating it with other ingredients. This really makes a lot of difference. It makes the meat so tender and juicy. Koreans usually use fruit to marinate meat and this way you don't have to put too much sugar. I also season it with salt and pepper ( a pinch of salt and about a teaspoon of pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I read the previous reviews and followed two of the suggestions. 1. I cooked the ribs at 375 for 20 min then broiled them for 5 min. 2. After marinading the meat I boiled the left over marinade, then reduced it to a simmer until the marinade reduced to a glaze, which we added to the ribs after cooking. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wow. If this is Korean BBQ then American BBQ needs to learn a few things from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I mostly can only rate the marinade because I used a different cut of meat. Beef chuck flanken style ribs. Marinaded it for a good 6 hours. Actually thickened the marinade that was left and cooked it with some asian style veggies. Daughter and boyfriend rate it 5 stars! Me too! This is my kitchen approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this recipe is very tasty. i used boneless shortribs and marinated in a ziplock bag for 2 days in the fridge and did not add water. i did not have any green onions on hand and subbed minced yellow onion. i also put these under the broiler and cooked to medium. They were delicious! i sliced the meat thin and as suggested, rolled them in romaine lettuce leaves and chili paste and ate with white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! Followed the recipe exact and I wouldn't change a single thing...thanks for submitting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
was awesome...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I eat korean bbq ribs all the time and my korean auntie makes this quite often at family gatherings along with all the assorted korean veggies (namool), rice, soup, etc. You don't need to grill this very long and the time called for in this recipe it approximate. This is a very delicious when bbq'd on the grill and I can always taste a hint of the ginger and sesame oil mixed in with a little sweetness to balance the flavor. I usually serve this with hot rice, "Kongnamool," (korean soybean sprouts) and " Korean-style Seaweed Soup," all from this site. Mmmm...so tasty and fullfilling!! UPDATE: Family loved this as always, gobbled this up in mere seconds, licking fingers and smacking lips. The meat is so juicy and tender and has a nice sweetness from the brown sugar, a hint of sesame oil, garlic and ginger. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States