Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really easy and really good. I did make some adjustments. I added season salt, onion powder, black pepper, and red wine vinegar to the marinade. I also used the marinade once removing the ribs. I simmered it down with some chopped celery, bay leaves and minced onions and used it to drizzle on top of the finished grilled ribs. Once I drizzled the sauce, I put them in the oven covered on 350 to bake for 30 minutes and they came out very tender and full of flavor. This is a keeper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Instead of grilling, I threw everything in my slow cooker--marinade and all--and it made a delicious stew. I could inhale this stuff by the bowlful with some white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malenie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wonderful and super easy recipe! I decided to bake it instead of grilling. Preheated the oven to 370 and baked each side for 12 minutes. While it was cooking I brought the rest of the sauce to a boil and then kept it on medium low heat until it turned to a thick delicious sweet and savory glaze, which was suggested in the previous review. After the ribs cooked for 24 minutes, I broiled it on low heat for a 5 min. Poured the glaze over it and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
SOOO good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was absolutely fantastic! My husband raved about it as did my guests. This tastes better than what I can get at a Korean BBQ restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made this recipe today with short ribs(that were thick). I made double the sauce 1 1/2 sauce in the plastic bag to marinate the other to baste(added cornstarch to thicken). We put them on a pan on the grill let them cook while basting then towards the end put them directly on the grill. I ran out of soy sauce so I used kikko teriyaki marinate. I only had little bit of green onions. But that didn't make a difference. I served them with mixed veggies, chicken dumplings and white rice. My family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a wonderful dish. I used 1/2c soy sauce only; I didn't have green onions so I grated 1/3 of regular onion for the marinade. I also added all the juice and three slices from a can of pineapple (thanks to another reviewer)for a little sweetness. (I put the pineapple through the food processor.) Marinated for 3 days,turning at least twice daily; barbecued about 5 minutes per side. DElishious. Cooked up the marinade for 10 minutes to serve for extra sauce - everyone took some. Had 2 requests for the recipe. Am going to the store to buy more of these ribs(they're on sale right now). I'll put them in ziplock bags with the marinade and freeze until I wish to serve them again, which won't be too far in the future. Thank you, thank you to the recipe poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I've tried many kalbi recipes and this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I marinaded over night. Was excellent. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These were good but the ribs don't get soft enough this way. I would use the same marinade (which is the bomb) but slow cook the ribs at 325 in a tightly covered pan for 3-4 hours or use a crockpot next time. I may just use this as a stir-fry type sauce for chicken as well. Very good. UPDATE: have used as a stir-fry sauce and it's wonderful. I just thicken it with about 1/4 cup corn starch mixed with cold water. Add it a little at a time until the sauce is as thick as you like. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States