Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was such an awesome surprise. I added a bit of ginger, some honey & mashed up some canned pear & pineapple with a bit of added juice from each into the mix. Don't care for sesame so added just a pinch of grillin' Asian sesame mix, used yellow onion & baked, then broiled as per other reviewers, also have grilled at the campsite. AMAZING Thanks for the recipe. It is now on rotation for chicken, pork butts sliced into rib style, etc. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe is so yummy I add just a bit of ginger and sesame seeds and marinate over night. ...i use beef short ribs their the thick cut no bone ribs meat you can buy anywhere and marinate it over night, before I cook them on a skillet I slice them thin and cook on each side just for a minute or two depending how thick you slice your meat and they are so incredibly tender it's amazing. I had a lot of meat after I sliced it all, bought it at costco, so I stuck the rest in a zip lock bag in the marinade into the freezer it kept well the freezer batch tasted as great as the first if not better. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really easy and really good. I did make some adjustments. I added season salt, onion powder, black pepper, and red wine vinegar to the marinade. I also used the marinade once removing the ribs. I simmered it down with some chopped celery, bay leaves and minced onions and used it to drizzle on top of the finished grilled ribs. Once I drizzled the sauce, I put them in the oven covered on 350 to bake for 30 minutes and they came out very tender and full of flavor. This is a keeper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Instead of grilling, I threw everything in my slow cooker--marinade and all--and it made a delicious stew. I could inhale this stuff by the bowlful with some white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malenie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wonderful and super easy recipe! I decided to bake it instead of grilling. Preheated the oven to 370 and baked each side for 12 minutes. While it was cooking I brought the rest of the sauce to a boil and then kept it on medium low heat until it turned to a thick delicious sweet and savory glaze, which was suggested in the previous review. After the ribs cooked for 24 minutes, I broiled it on low heat for a 5 min. Poured the glaze over it and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
SOOO good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was absolutely fantastic! My husband raved about it as did my guests. This tastes better than what I can get at a Korean BBQ restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made this recipe today with short ribs(that were thick). I made double the sauce 1 1/2 sauce in the plastic bag to marinate the other to baste(added cornstarch to thicken). We put them on a pan on the grill let them cook while basting then towards the end put them directly on the grill. I ran out of soy sauce so I used kikko teriyaki marinate. I only had little bit of green onions. But that didn't make a difference. I served them with mixed veggies, chicken dumplings and white rice. My family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a wonderful dish. I used 1/2c soy sauce only; I didn't have green onions so I grated 1/3 of regular onion for the marinade. I also added all the juice and three slices from a can of pineapple (thanks to another reviewer)for a little sweetness. (I put the pineapple through the food processor.) Marinated for 3 days,turning at least twice daily; barbecued about 5 minutes per side. DElishious. Cooked up the marinade for 10 minutes to serve for extra sauce - everyone took some. Had 2 requests for the recipe. Am going to the store to buy more of these ribs(they're on sale right now). I'll put them in ziplock bags with the marinade and freeze until I wish to serve them again, which won't be too far in the future. Thank you, thank you to the recipe poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I've tried many kalbi recipes and this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States