Kalamata Olive and Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I was rather skeptical while making this bread. It was extremely easy, but when I began kneading the dough, the entire filling burst through and all over my counter. I just managed the get the dough into a ball, pressed some of the filling onto the surface of the dough, and decided to try baking it anyways. It was wonderful! My husband, myself and our two young children polished off most of the loaf at dinner, and finished the rest for breakfast the next morning. Next time I make it (which will be soon), I'll just knead it altogether, and not worry about keeping the filling in the middle. Do try this delicious bread. We ate it with souvlaki and a Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Delicious and one I will make again! I thought the dough seemed too wet when I kneaded in the olives and garlic, but the bread is big, moist and excellent, so I wouldn't change the amount of flour. PS I DID leave in an olive pit by accident and my husband nearly broke a tooth! Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this bread yesterday. Followed the recipe to a T. I measured the flour with my scale weighing 1 pound = 4 c of flour. This is one of the easiest recipes for bread that I've ever used. Wonderful results. Will make again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Made this for "Greek night", used Kitchen aid & added garlic and olives after it was mixed, great flavor. Did'nt even need butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Found this recipe while looking for a roasted garlic bread recipe. It was really good! The method described really sped up the proofing process. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a food processor. Here's the ingredient changes I used: only 2 cloves of garlic as what I had was getting a little dry and thus more pungent and a Tbl of dried rosemary, crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy! This bread tastes amazing! I added a bit of chopped up roasted red pepper which looked pretty too. I will make this bread whenever we serve lamb and I think it will be a wonderful bread for chicken salad sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I've baked this a bunch of times and i love it. I dropped the olives once to just make garlic bread and another time I used 7/8 cup of wheat flour per cup of flour for a healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very easy, and very good. I just mixed it with a spoon and then my hands, and kneaded it a bit in the bowl. I made it with whole wheat flour, and it still came out very moist. I got half way through the recipe before I realized I was out of Kalamata olives. Oops! I used green olives instead, and it was tasty! It did end up a little too salty with the green olives though, so if I do that again I'll cut some of the salt in the bread. Great recipe, and I'll be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this bread is sooo sooo good!! the whole house smells wonderful after i baked this!! i also roasted the garlic before i put it in the bread, and io sprikled some oregeno on top. i just mixed it all in bowl. and then baked it in the bowl so it would be perfectly round. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This makes a very satisfying, dense yet tender loaf. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's an easy bread to make in an afternoon. I like the use of the Kalamata olives, but the garlic tasted a little "raw". Next time I will try sauteing the garlic in a little of the olive oil before putting it in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States