Kalamata Olive and Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Delicious and one I will make again! I thought the dough seemed too wet when I kneaded in the olives and garlic, but the bread is big, moist and excellent, so I wouldn't change the amount of flour. PS I DID leave in an olive pit by accident and my husband nearly broke a tooth! Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I was rather skeptical while making this bread. It was extremely easy, but when I began kneading the dough, the entire filling burst through and all over my counter. I just managed the get the dough into a ball, pressed some of the filling onto the surface of the dough, and decided to try baking it anyways. It was wonderful! My husband, myself and our two young children polished off most of the loaf at dinner, and finished the rest for breakfast the next morning. Next time I make it (which will be soon), I'll just knead it altogether, and not worry about keeping the filling in the middle. Do try this delicious bread. We ate it with souvlaki and a Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this bread yesterday. Followed the recipe to a T. I measured the flour with my scale weighing 1 pound = 4 c of flour. This is one of the easiest recipes for bread that I've ever used. Wonderful results. Will make again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I used a more traditional method for rising instead of heating anything, and I made the whole recipe by hand. I did use Black and Green Olives because I didn't have Kalamata...although I do love Kalamta!! I let it rise for a full hour on the second rise after shaping. The end result was soft and moist...packed with flavor! I'll try the addition of some olive brine in place of some water next time and maybe a little rosemary. I also only used 1 tsp of salt in the dough because I was using such salty olives! Wonderful recipe-thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Found this recipe while looking for a roasted garlic bread recipe. It was really good! The method described really sped up the proofing process. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a food processor. Here's the ingredient changes I used: only 2 cloves of garlic as what I had was getting a little dry and thus more pungent and a Tbl of dried rosemary, crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This makes a very satisfying, dense yet tender loaf. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's an easy bread to make in an afternoon. I like the use of the Kalamata olives, but the garlic tasted a little "raw". Next time I will try sauteing the garlic in a little of the olive oil before putting it in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this bread is sooo sooo good!! the whole house smells wonderful after i baked this!! i also roasted the garlic before i put it in the bread, and io sprikled some oregeno on top. i just mixed it all in bowl. and then baked it in the bowl so it would be perfectly round. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made this as stated, but distributed olives and garlic through out the entire loaf and not just the center. I don't have a food processor but even by hand this was super easy even for a non bread maker like myself. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very easy, and very good. I just mixed it with a spoon and then my hands, and kneaded it a bit in the bowl. I made it with whole wheat flour, and it still came out very moist. I got half way through the recipe before I realized I was out of Kalamata olives. Oops! I used green olives instead, and it was tasty! It did end up a little too salty with the green olives though, so if I do that again I'll cut some of the salt in the bread. Great recipe, and I'll be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spongebob7
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This bread was so easy to make! I made it by hand because I love the process. It turned out great and was quite tasty along with our lentil soup. I added fresh rosemary to the filling and kneaded the ingredients through the bread. The filling poked out in places but looked pretty and rustic. The texture of the bread was like country white...was hoping it would be more like an Italian loaf...not sure how to achieve that texture since I'm not very experienced in bread baking. This would be a great recipe baked as foccacia too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States