Kalamata Olive and Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sally2u
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very good recipe, but I too made the recipe by hand, didn't use a bread machine or food processer and it turned out great. I also mixed the olives and minced garlic right into the dough and decided to bake my bread on a Pizza stone and I love the way it turned out, more like Foccocia Bread. I spread some olive oil on the pizza stone, sprinkled a little cornmeal on the stone then spread out the dough. I brushed the top with a bit of olive oil then added chopped fresh Rosemary on top just before I put it in the oven. Only thing I would do different is use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Current, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
ok my first attempt was awful...all my fault the next attempt following all directions whoo hoo fantastic bread! now that got my mind racing, if olives and garlic were good, why not jalepanoes, sharp cheddar and garlic, then why not olives, garlic and feta? you get the idea thanks Martha I will always love the original but go for the others..btw the jalepeno and cheddar was great with chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I used a more traditional method for rising instead of heating anything, and I made the whole recipe by hand. I did use Black and Green Olives because I didn't have Kalamata...although I do love Kalamta!! I let it rise for a full hour on the second rise after shaping. The end result was soft and moist...packed with flavor! I'll try the addition of some olive brine in place of some water next time and maybe a little rosemary. I also only used 1 tsp of salt in the dough because I was using such salty olives! Wonderful recipe-thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Good, easy recipe and even better with whole wheat flour if you like really dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Will make this again BUT I will let it rise for a longer period next time as it turned out pretty dense. For this recipe I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes for some reason and I was using the convection oven. The following modifications were made: manzanilla olives instead of Kalamata instead of water used the brine from the olives (eliminated the salt) mixed the garlic and olives right in the bread like other suggested. Nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This makes a very satisfying, dense yet tender loaf. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's an easy bread to make in an afternoon. I like the use of the Kalamata olives, but the garlic tasted a little "raw". Next time I will try sauteing the garlic in a little of the olive oil before putting it in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Yummy and very easy to make. I wish it had a denser consistency though, it was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great, but way too salty! I would prefer maybe half the salt, but I don't know if reducing it would affect the consistency of the bread. I added rosemary and sun dried tomatoes, and I used some kind of Italian olives instead of Kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this bread is sooo sooo good!! the whole house smells wonderful after i baked this!! i also roasted the garlic before i put it in the bread, and io sprikled some oregeno on top. i just mixed it all in bowl. and then baked it in the bowl so it would be perfectly round. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made this as stated, but distributed olives and garlic through out the entire loaf and not just the center. I don't have a food processor but even by hand this was super easy even for a non bread maker like myself. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States