Kalamata Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pungent but good flavor, albeit a little on the "sharp" side. I think it could benefit from reducing the amount of both the lemon juice and garlic. Not its best on its own - this is best served, I think, with something to "mellow" it out some; perhaps sliced mozzarella or a creamy dip or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JessicaL
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
As written, this tapenade is very good but *very* acidic, so I deducted a star. The second time, I reduced the lemon juice to less than 1/2 teaspoon and it was still more than tangy enough for me. I do not think salt or pepper are needed, but did not deduct any stars as that is written "to taste." I served it on crostini, with a slice of tomato and some feta, and it was delicious. Next time, I may try a bit of cream cheese on the crostini before I spread on the tapenade, or I may just do half kalamata, half black olives. I definitely recommend it, although I would suggest reducing the lemon juice unless you are using a mix of kalamata and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this to take to a cocktail party the other night...was not happy with my results. I followed the recipe exactly and thought the taste was way too sharp...the lemon juice overpowered and (I can't believe I'm saying this) there was too much garlic. In an effort to save the recipe, I added an extra dash of olive oil, then kalamata olives and finally a small can of plain chopped black olives to try to tone it down a bit. Was sad that it did not turn out after all the great reviews. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very bold flavors, Yum! Make sure to add salt if needed AFTER all is blended. Plus it is MUFA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Oh so good!!! No changes at all, it's delicious as written!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is so delicious. I love kalamata tampenade, and this is perfect...... Some said it was salty - it is essential to rinse the capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe! Made it up two days a head of time so the flavors of all the ingredients would marry. Put it out for my guests at the Xmas party served with breadsticks, ritz, crackers and triskets. It was gobbled up fast! They loved it. Do not skip the fresh lemon juice or the capers. I cut the little tips off the garlic and put th in my mini processor and pulsed til minced. I DRAINED my capers and olives but reserved the juices in case tapenade was too dry. The key to getting a rough to small chop is pulsing the processor until desired texture is acheived. Don't just turn on and let it run or you will get a puree. Trying it with canned black olives this next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Knight Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BridgetteF
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. My guests and I loved it. Tastes just as good as any store bought tapenade I've purchased but was very easy to make at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BridgetteF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have to echo another reviewers comment about the appearance. I should have known better than to do this in a blender. It looked like something from the bottom of a canal. Yecch, grey muck. I tossed it. I'll retry but finely hand-chopped instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
As a supertaster, I usually hate olives, but this was pretty good with kalamata olives. I put them on my rosemary triscuit nachos...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States