Kalamata Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
What an innovative idea! I love the pungency and meatiness of the olives, and the garlic gives this delicious spread a robust punch. If you serve it as suggested, the french bread should balance the saltiness of the olives. I can't wait to use it on pizza in place of basil pesto. Thanks for a great idea, Behr Kleine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I liked this a lot! Because the reviews were a bit mixed, I decided to go with black olives. Kalamatas are too pricey to try a new recipe with. Don't understand why they're so expensive; they're olives for corn sakes, not truffles! Anyway, didn't have pecans so I subbed with walnuts. Didn't have any feta either, so I used parm instead. All worked well. As for the saltiness one reviewer commented on; yes, kalamatas are extremely salty and of course the cheese has it's share too. I'd say a good rinse of the olives should help. As for the color some people didn't care for; well, you're right, it's not all that pretty, but a sprinkling of fresh parsley, diced tomatoes and scallions to garnish redirected the eye somewhat. Thanks so much Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe is yummy. So easy and tasty.I served it with some crostini brushed with olive oil.A definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
VERY SALTY (much too salty). I used VIGO Greek Olives and maybe that was the culprit. I would suggest rinsing the olives well and drying them to cut the salt. I like the idea of this recipe so I may try it with black olives instead. I agree with the reviewer who commented on the color. It was pretty yucky. I garnished it with parsley, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I thought this was much too salty and I found the color unappealing. I served the left-overs on celery to my Atkins Diet Dad and he loved it. I think the celery cut the saltiness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This dip was so easy. I garnished the serving tray with sliced roma tomatoes to add on the bread if desired. I will make this again and again. Wonderful with a nice Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
The flavors are so intense and addictive: I made it for a goodie day at work and it was pretty much all I ate the entire day, LOL!! Delicious recipe, it got raves from all of my co-workers; I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This is a delicious appetizer. I had it at a Greek restaurant, and then found this recipe. It tasted like the appetizer at the restaurant, and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States