Kalamata Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
What an innovative idea! I love the pungency and meatiness of the olives, and the garlic gives this delicious spread a robust punch. If you serve it as suggested, the french bread should balance the saltiness of the olives. I can't wait to use it on pizza in place of basil pesto. Thanks for a great idea, Behr Kleine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I liked this a lot! Because the reviews were a bit mixed, I decided to go with black olives. Kalamatas are too pricey to try a new recipe with. Don't understand why they're so expensive; they're olives for corn sakes, not truffles! Anyway, didn't have pecans so I subbed with walnuts. Didn't have any feta either, so I used parm instead. All worked well. As for the saltiness one reviewer commented on; yes, kalamatas are extremely salty and of course the cheese has it's share too. I'd say a good rinse of the olives should help. As for the color some people didn't care for; well, you're right, it's not all that pretty, but a sprinkling of fresh parsley, diced tomatoes and scallions to garnish redirected the eye somewhat. Thanks so much Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe is yummy. So easy and tasty.I served it with some crostini brushed with olive oil.A definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
VERY SALTY (much too salty). I used VIGO Greek Olives and maybe that was the culprit. I would suggest rinsing the olives well and drying them to cut the salt. I like the idea of this recipe so I may try it with black olives instead. I agree with the reviewer who commented on the color. It was pretty yucky. I garnished it with parsley, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I thought this was much too salty and I found the color unappealing. I served the left-overs on celery to my Atkins Diet Dad and he loved it. I think the celery cut the saltiness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This dip was so easy. I garnished the serving tray with sliced roma tomatoes to add on the bread if desired. I will make this again and again. Wonderful with a nice Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
The flavors are so intense and addictive: I made it for a goodie day at work and it was pretty much all I ate the entire day, LOL!! Delicious recipe, it got raves from all of my co-workers; I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This is a delicious appetizer. I had it at a Greek restaurant, and then found this recipe. It tasted like the appetizer at the restaurant, and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States