Kalamata Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
What an innovative idea! I love the pungency and meatiness of the olives, and the garlic gives this delicious spread a robust punch. If you serve it as suggested, the french bread should balance the saltiness of the olives. I can't wait to use it on pizza in place of basil pesto. Thanks for a great idea, Behr Kleine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This is a delicious appetizer. I had it at a Greek restaurant, and then found this recipe. It tasted like the appetizer at the restaurant, and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This dip was so easy. I garnished the serving tray with sliced roma tomatoes to add on the bread if desired. I will make this again and again. Wonderful with a nice Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Omitted the pecans due to a nut allergy, otherwise concluded that we didn't really need them. This was kind of salty and oily, yet ideal served on mini Melba Toasts as a snack. The toasts just soaked up any run off anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Nice flavors in this, and easy to make too. It makes a bit more than I expected, but that's okay. I'm the only one in the house that likes olives, so it's up to me to eat it, but I think I can manage. I had whole pecans but just pulsed them a bit in the food processor before adding the other ingredients and it was fine. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was wonderful! Unfortunately, I only realized after I started that my food processor didn't work so I had to chop everything by hand. The flavor was delicious though, and I think I liked the more robust texture better in the end anyway. Served with toast rounds as a thanksgiving appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I left out the nuts, but even still this spread is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is one of my favorite appetizer recipes. everyone who tries this requests the recipe. LOVE it. I add more garlic and serve it on crackers as well. It helps if you have a palate that enjoys a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
VERY SALTY (much too salty). I used VIGO Greek Olives and maybe that was the culprit. I would suggest rinsing the olives well and drying them to cut the salt. I like the idea of this recipe so I may try it with black olives instead. I agree with the reviewer who commented on the color. It was pretty yucky. I garnished it with parsley, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! The pecans really added some oommph and texture. Next time I might add some fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States