Kalamata Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I really like this stuff, it is unique and very robust with flavor. I can understand others' comments about the saltiness but you must expect that when using Kalamata olives. While primarily a dip, I can see it being used as a sandwich spread--kind of like Schlotsky's deli, used in bread recipes (perhaps a Tbsp or two in "Jo's rosemary bread"?), or mixed with pesto for a unique pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a most excellent addition to any vegetarian cook book! The flavors are intense and go great on crostini brushed with olive oil and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wow!!! Delicious! If you have a palate that loves complex foods, try this one. The only thing I did differently is that I toasted the pecans first. Loved it. Not beautiful but I topped it with a sprinkle of feta cheese and a pinch of parsley. Served it with a light an airy bread that I sliced thin, topped with olive oil and baked until slightly crisp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I left out the nuts, but even still this spread is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! The pecans really added some oommph and texture. Next time I might add some fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very good stuff. I'd never had anything like it before, let alone made it at home. The Woman I Love didn't want to try it, so I ate it all by myself in six days. It was enough for two whole loaves of French bread (warmed and sliced, as suggested). This was the first time I'd ever bought either Calamata olives (as the ones I bought were spelled) or Feta cheese. I had several fetas to choose from, and picked the "crumbled traditional" style. It wasn't mentioned in the recipe, but I assumed the olives were to be drained of the brine they came in. I had larger packages, so I measured out the proper net weights of the pecans and olives. The whole recipe made quite a bit; I don't have a proper food processor (yet), and it pretty much filled up my 3-cup "Chef's Chopper". The results were pretty salty, but not too much so. One very minor complaint (echoing several previous reviewers) is that it sure isn't very visually appealing. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it quite a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Omitted the pecans due to a nut allergy, otherwise concluded that we didn't really need them. This was kind of salty and oily, yet ideal served on mini Melba Toasts as a snack. The toasts just soaked up any run off anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Nice flavors in this, and easy to make too. It makes a bit more than I expected, but that's okay. I'm the only one in the house that likes olives, so it's up to me to eat it, but I think I can manage. I had whole pecans but just pulsed them a bit in the food processor before adding the other ingredients and it was fine. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was wonderful! Unfortunately, I only realized after I started that my food processor didn't work so I had to chop everything by hand. The flavor was delicious though, and I think I liked the more robust texture better in the end anyway. Served with toast rounds as a thanksgiving appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is one of my favorite appetizer recipes. everyone who tries this requests the recipe. LOVE it. I add more garlic and serve it on crackers as well. It helps if you have a palate that enjoys a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States