Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was perfect. Very esy to make. I let mine rise at about 75 degrees. The dough was very moist yet fluffy, and it tasted like cinnamon rolls! I brushed the loaves again with melted butter fresh out of the oven, which gave them a pretty sheen and took care of any dryness they might have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Perfect. No change. I used ground walnuts for the filling. Just like I remember only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traci82
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This smelled so good while baking and my husband I I couldn't help but eat half of the first loaf when it came out! I made it in my bread machine on dough cycle and then rolled it out and doubled up on the filling. I put both loaves to rise and they rose up very nicely before baking! So good, I am making these for holiday goodie baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
WOW! that is the best cinnamon bread i've ever eaten! i did use whole wheat flour instead of white- still fabulous. the only problem i had was that it formed a "skin" on the outside while rising, but that was because i left it to rise while i was at work (a/b 3 hours or so). after i punched it down and rolled it out, it was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sporky08

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious sweet bread and very easy to make, thanks for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was pretty simple to make using my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the whisked egg, vanilla, and butter. After that had combined well, I added the combined flour and salt. After that had combined, I took the submitter's advice and added dried Craisins. I had to add an additional 1/2 c. flour to get the dough to jump on the hook, but once it did, I let it knead with the hook for about five minutes or so. I then let it rise in a greased metal pan on my warm oven, covered with a moist towel, for an hour. After that, I divided the bread into two loaves, rolled it out and added the butter and brown sugar. I formed it into loaves and set them in the loaf pans and covered them again with the moist towel and let them rise for a second time for about fourty-five minutes. It only needed to bake for about a half hour. I don't usually time my breads, you just kind of know after a while. They smell done. This was a fun bread to make and smells out of sight when baking. Quite the stress reliever. No way you can be upset when smelling a wonderful sweet bread baking! Thanks, Valerie. NOTE: I did use unsalted butter, lowfat buttermilk, organic flour and brown sugar Splenda. For those of you who are timid bread makers, just go for it. I used to be, but now I really enjoy making bread by hand. Use your Kitchen Aid. It cuts your work in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I'm the submitter of the recipe. I'm so glad many of you have enjoyed our family recipe. I've put practically everything under the sun in this bread! A favorite of my family is chopped bittersweet chocolate and dried tart cherries. It's divine. It's also good to add cocoa to the dough to make chocolate bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm rating 3 stars because the dough was just so difficult to work with. The end result was pretty good although a little on the dry side. If I tried again I'd be inclined to add a bit more liquid and I might try it in my bread machine. My son is gobbling it up but I wasn't thrilled with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This makes the most wonderful cinnamon raisin bread! I added the dry ingredients into the wet the second time I made these and they were even better than the first loaves. I added 1 cup of soaked raisins in the last few minutes of kneading. I doubled the cinnamon sugar filling. Wow! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
these are really tasty, but I don't think the cook time is accurate. Next time I make these I will put them in the oven for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States