Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very good recipe. Made dough in breadmaker and then baked in oven. I took the suggestions of other raters and doubled the filling. I also added almond slivers and grated semi-sweet chocolate to the filling. Yummy. The only issue is that I had to add 10min to cooking time even though it was in a convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Photo by Jill and Scott
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is amazing! After I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk, I added the rest of the wet ingredients together and mixed well. I then mixed the flour and salt and added that to the wet ingredients. At this point I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips to the dough before mixing and allowing it to rise. I only had one glass baking dish, so I used a metal one as well. Both loaves turned out great and I didn't adjust the time for either. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used my bread machine to make the dough, I used vanilla sugar in the dough, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tbsp cinnamon for the filling for the 2 loaves. Iit was so yummy, made the house smell fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Really really yummy!! Just a few changes based on some other reviews, proofed yeast in milk, then added the dry to wet ingredients. Also used 1/2 c Brown Sugar & 2 tsp of cinnamon for the filling. Just a personal preference. This is soooo good! I had a hard time choosing which Cinnamon type of bread I wanted to make. I'm REALLY happy I made this one! Give it a try! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Aeroplane
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I cut it in half so I only made one loaf. I decided to proof my yeast for 10 minutes in the warm milk with the sugar, and it is a good thing I did that because my first pack was dead! I added the egg, vanilla, and (unsalted)butter to that, and then mixed in the flour and salt. I don't like to use a mixer when I'm only making one loaf so I kneaded my dough by hand, but besides that I followed the rest of the directions and it was done in exactly 30 minutes. I waited for it to cool and it sliced beautifully. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aeroplane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious! Followed suggestions below to add more cinnamon. The amount of flour specified was enough for me - but other reviewers put more. I used a stand mixer to knead the dough and it came out great when I mixed dry into wet about 1/2 cup of flour at a time to get a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Heavenly!!!Both in aroma and taste.Did use Splenda(R) and Half salt(R) with no other changes.Thankyou wisweetp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My family loves the apple cinnamon bread from costco, so I added one finely chopped granny smith to the dough with the wet ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Easy to make in my bread machine on dough cycle. Super yummy right out of the oven, but also equally yummy in the toaster! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I'm eating it as I type, absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS, although next time I'm going to almost double the cinnamon and brown sugar and make it thinner so there's more swirls. Not to mention Quadrupling the recipe, I took them out of the over less than ten minutes ago and they're gone! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States