Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Now this is good ... really, really good. I used my bread machine to make the dough and the measurements were bang on. No need for addtional flour or liquid, the only small change was subbing oil for the melted butter. I did however double the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture based on other reviews. No need to skimp on all that sugary goodness. The other half of the dough was made into cinnamon twists, which were delicious. Can't wait to try different variations on this perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing wisweetp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Really great recipe. I sub'd 2 cups of wheat flour for white, and bread was still really tender. The cinnamon/sugar mixture baked out a bit, but I think that may have been my fault for not tightening up the loaf before baking. I also decreased the oven temperature to 325 and baked for 25 minutes, because my loaf pans are dark (ie not glass).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samclark
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The day after baking, this bread takes on this really delicious crusty flakey texture on the outside, but still so soft on the inside from all that wonderful sugar and cinnamon. I didn't double the amount of filling, but I didn't measure it either. I mixed and matched until it looked and tasted right to me. Already have requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Second time making this. I didn't alter it other than to make one with cinnamon and the other with the cocoa powder both using 1/3c brown sugar. I love how soft this bread is even when using fresh grd whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! I used this recipe as a base. It's an extremely versatile and user friendly combination of ingredients. Out of habit, I always proof my yeast first. While that's proofing, I combine half the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients minus the salt in a stand up mixing bowl. Once proofed, I blend it with what's in the bowl and mix with a paddle attachment. Then I add the rest of the flour, the salt, and tossed in a BIG handful of quick oats and 5-6 tablespoons of wheat germ (so I wouldn't feel guilty eating it), then used the dough hook. I took suggestions from other readers and soaked 2 cups of dried cranberries and squeeze drained well. I added a shy 1/2 teaspoon of finely grated lime zest and combined with cranberries. After the first rise, I hand kneaded the berries and zest into the dough. After baking, and while the bread was still hot out of the oven, I liberally drizzled Vanilla Glaze (from this site) over both loaves and IMMEDIATELY sprinkled crushed granola into the still wet glaze. All I can say is, "WOWZA!" Thanks wisweetp for sharing your secrets for this extraordinary culinary treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was great! I doubled the cinnamon sugar filling this time and I still feel like it could have a little more but definitely delicious as is. Thanks! Oh and I did have to add about 1/4c flour just to get it too sort of come together (it was still very sticky and loose) but made for the most moist and delicious finished bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Fantastic recipe- I've made it twice in three days! Doubling the cinnamon sugar filling made too much, I thought it was going to ooze out so I didn't use all of it the first time. I used a generous 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon the second time and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
after spreading double the amount of cinnamon/brown sugar, i added chocolate chipes (at least 1 cup) it turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisincarlsbad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and after hours and hours the dough did not rise properly the second time. I baked it and found it too be dense to the point of inedible...two loaves for the garbage can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this bread. Made it for a new years eve party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States