Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this bread. Made it for a new years eve party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was very good bread! I layered in dried cranberries and toasted walnuts with the brown sugar mixture. In retrospect, I would have mixed them into the dough as when slicing the tended to fall out. Will definitely make this bread again! Oh, and I used half whole wheat flour which I think gave it a good heartiness without being too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This bread is quite delicious. I made it two days ago and I think it is even better leftover and toasted. The only problem I had was that midway through the baking, one of the rolls opened up and started leaking some filling, but it was very easy to pinch back together. Just check on it periodically through the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this over the weekend. I had a few problems. Maybe somebody here has some suggestions? First, I halved the recipe. It did not rise as quickly as I expected, it took well over one and a half hours to double. My yeast is new and alive, I've used it in other recipes with good results in recent days. Also I kept the rising dough in a warmish, draft-free place. Should I have INCREASED the yeast, even though I halved everything else? The layers separated while baking, so I was left with big gaps in the swirl. It was tasty, but dry. So what can I do next time to: 1) make it rise in a more timely fashion 2) not separate 3) be less dry and more moist? Thanks, all suggestions welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I doubled the amount of filling and kneaded about 1 cup of raisin into the dough. I didn't have a stand mixer and got a pretty good workout kneading the dough for 5 minutes. :) Everyone in my family loved this bread. Next time I'll try to use less butter and double the amount of cinnamon but not sugar in the filling, to cut down the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loretta
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good bread and easy to make. I used 3 cups ap flour and 1 cup whole wheat just to make it a little different. I proofed the yeast in the milk with sugar and then placed everything in my kitchen aid to mix. I added some walnuts to the filling and it tasted very good! I will keep this recipe and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made this twice now, and it's a keeper. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it a bit healthier. Used breadmaker to make the dough - so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gottacookthis
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! And the combination of the brown sugar & cinnamon warm and dripping in the center just added that special touch to the flavorful bread. I used a small-mixer dough hook to knead, so did it without a bread machine. I ended up leaving it to rise double the time too. Soooo glad i ran into this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottacookthis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was excellent. I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 fresh ground flour. Mine took closer to an hour for the second rising but turned out delicious! Soft and tender with a nice soft crust. I added raisins, but I might try some nuts next time. Can't wait for our morning toast. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I kept pretty much everything the same for this recipe, with a few exceptions. 1) I doubled the brown sugar/cinnamon filling and 2) added 1/2 cup raisins (so 1/4 C raisins per loaf) that I soaked in water that had cinnamon, cloves, and allspice so they were nice and plump. Also I would suggest rolling these loaves very tightly, otherwise when they rise and are baked, there are big hollow gaps between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States