Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this bread this morning and it could not be any easier. The trick the other poster mentioned about letting it rise in the oven, with the light on, is great! I did not proof the yeast , just mixed it with all the other dry ingredients and it rose beautifully. I did experiment a bit and added chopped bittersweet chocolate to one loaf along with the cinnamon mixture. To die for! I did double the amount for the sugar-cinnamon mixture--2/3 cup brown sugar and 1and 1/2 tsp.cinnamon. It was the perfect amount for my taste. Oh my, wait until your kitchen starts to smell with the aroma of this bread. I definitely want to make French toast with the raisin loaf. I really don't know how our mothers and grandmothers existed without stand mixers with dough hooks---glad I have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have been making bread for about 10 years now and OMG this is one of the best I've ever made. I made it exactly as stated (except I did add the yeast to the milk) and since I don't have a stand mixer I kneaded it all by hand. I had to add a little more milk to get the dough really elastic, probably because I live in a dry climate, AZ. I also thought the amount of filling called for was just right--I didn't double it. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We all love this bread! It is so easy to make and always turns out delicious! I double the brown sugar and cinnamon for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful bread! I added 2 Tablespoons of cinnamon to the dough, but other than that followed the recipe. Tasted awesome! Definitely will be making this again. I mixed this in my bread machine through the dough cycle. Formed it into a loaf, let it rise, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
How can a recipe that's rated 5 stars by so many be bad? I followed this recipe exactly except I used bread flour and doubled the amount of brown sugar and cinnamon filing. This bread was amazing. It tasted kinda like a cinnamon roll minus the icing. This bread makes great toast also. Don't bother trying to halve this recipe. You'll want both loaves! I also bakes at 325 instead of 350 for only 25 minutes because I used dark metal bread pans. Excellent bread. I'll be making this bread often. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This recipe makes a wonderful sweet dough that can be used in many ways. The baked cinnamon loafs were delicious hot out of the oven, as well as toasted the next morning. By the suggestion of others I doubled the cinnamon and sugar for the filling. For me, the loafs still didn't have enough cinnamon flavor and will be increasing it to 4 teaspoons next time I make it. The 2/3 cups of brown sugar was perfect. I topped the buttered loafs with raw sugar before baking to give them a nice crunch on top. Roll dough tightly to give the loafs more swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent bread. I used bread flour, added raisins and baked it free form because I wanted a more rustic, chewy bread and it came out perfect. This was so good. I’m sure this will be excellent for French toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I'm a bread novice with a couple of failures under my belt, but I gave this one a shot anyway and it not only turned out, but it is *amazing bread.* So, so, so very yummy! Like many others, I proofed the yeast with the warm milk and sugar first (it was a month past its expiration date, so I wanted to make sure it did its thing!) and added about a cup of dried cranberries. I also used 3 c. of bread flour and 1 c. of whole wheat flour. And doubled the filling. Thank you, wisweetp for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Now this is good ... really, really good. I used my bread machine to make the dough and the measurements were bang on. No need for addtional flour or liquid, the only small change was subbing oil for the melted butter. I did however double the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture based on other reviews. No need to skimp on all that sugary goodness. The other half of the dough was made into cinnamon twists, which were delicious. Can't wait to try different variations on this perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing wisweetp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Really great recipe. I sub'd 2 cups of wheat flour for white, and bread was still really tender. The cinnamon/sugar mixture baked out a bit, but I think that may have been my fault for not tightening up the loaf before baking. I also decreased the oven temperature to 325 and baked for 25 minutes, because my loaf pans are dark (ie not glass).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States