Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kkelly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
WOW, this was really great. As per many reviews, I doubled the filling and added apples. When done cooking, I sliced in the pan and poured hot vanilla glaze between slices and on top... A-MA-ZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this for the first time today. Super easy, even without a mixer. The taste & texture is fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This bread is amazing! will be making often! I read the reviews first so I made a couple of changes based on what I read read. First I used 1/2 bread flour, 1/2 all purpose. the bread was light and fluffy will do that from now on., second I used 1/3 cup sugar in the dough itself, as some people said it wasn't sweet enough. I think it made it too sweet. will use only the 1/4 cup as recipe states. I doubled the filling recipe but trippled the cinnamon. was so good. I also soaked 2 cups of raisins and added them to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great cinnamon bread recipe, its very forgiving. I did proof the yeast before adding all the other ingredients and doubled the cinnamon brown sugar mix. I will be using this as my to go to cinnamon bread recipe from now on, would also like to try this recipe out as cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiansmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So, so, so incredibly good!!! Added raisins and used bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My husband made this by hand and we used the cinnamon sugar I had mixed up some time before. We omitted the raisins and halved the recipe to make one loaf. Other than that, we stuck closely to the recipe and we enjoyed it very much, although my husband said he would use much more cinnamon sugar filling than called for (he loves sweets!). Definitely is a good base for all kinds of variations. Thank you for a great and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
soooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made the dough in my bread machine. I used 1/4 cup more sugar then suggested because I was making it for a craft fair and wanted the bread itself to be sweet, not just the cinnamon mixture. I also cut them into peices after rolling it tightly and placed it into lined cupcake tins. They were perfect! I have never attempted "cinnamon rolls" before, and I probably never will now. This was just too perfect. :) I'm making them again to take on a family road trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a nice bread, but for us, nothing exciting. To be fair, I really wanted to add raisins but didn't have any and I think that would've made a huge difference. I increased the cinnamon/sugar amounts almost by 3 and there still just isn't alot of flavor to this bread. Nice texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only thing that should change about this recipe is the use of "stars" for rating. It should be little pants. How many pant sizes do you think you'll go up after making this recipe! If you make it once, you WILL make it again, and again, and again. DELICIOUS! I made it for dinner, and my husband has already called dibs on the remaining slices for his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States