Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Great recipe - super easy to follow for a first time bread maker!! I did double the filling as others had recommended and used some whole wheat flour as well as all-purpose ~ it was perfect. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
this bread is AMAZING. i made it according to sarah jo's review (in a kitchen aid) and there was something i was wondering, would it be possible for me to make it in two separate steps? could i make it the night before and let it rise for the first and second time and put it in the fridge and then take it out and bake it the next morning (and would i have to let it come to room temp. first?). Or could i make it the night before and let it rise the first time and then put it in the fridge and then take it out the next morning and let it come to room temp and rise for the second time and bake it. hope this makes sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This bread turned out perfect. It was not overly sweet and unlike many homemade breads and stayed soft for as many days as it lasted at our house. This bread was very popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkrystyan
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My family loves this. Its sweet enough to satisfy them for dessert and not so sugary that I'm ok with my family eating it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic. We did double the cinnamon & brown sugar, but next time we'll triple the cinnamon for our preference. May try adding diced raisins as others suggested. Haven't tried yet toasting, but hope to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andilipi
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious sweet bread with cinnamon flavor. Excellent with coffee or milk or hot chocolate. I make this almost every week, my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andilipi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Husband can't get enough of this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I've noticed Summer bread baking, leaves my loaves smaller than in cooler months, since my house is air conditioned, it effects rise. This recipe was no exception, but I tried it anyway. First rise went great when I put it in the microwave with a preboiled cup of water to keep the heat contained. But second rise was not as full, even after almost 2 hours. But the flavor of this bread far outweighed the rise disappointment (not recipe error just housing conditions) I know this recipe will do just fine later in the season when my house is more suitable to nurture this eloquent bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was delicious! I made the dough in my bread maker, so it was super easy. I also added walnuts, which worked really well. Next time I might also try apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow, so good! Made this as written but used my bread machine for kneading only. I made only one loaf just for to try out and wished we had doubled the brown sugar mixture, but it's still lovely as is. They're best eaten right out of the oven when they are still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States