Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Easy to make, very good. Nice to toast and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this today following the recipe exactly but added candied pecans to the center before rolling. If learned that using a sifter to distribute the sugar mixes helps to distribute evenly (my mom would be proud). I used the bread machine on the dough setting and then transferred to pan (note the singular) after filling and rolling. I totally blanked and forgot to split this into two rolls, adding the entire batch to a 1-1/2 lb. loaf pan. Fortunately, it turned out awesome - big, but awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Mixed feelings on this recipe. For some reason I can never get the dough to rise. I have tried multiple times now and I always get the same result. This latest time I used advice from other reviewers and proofed the yeast first. The dough again did not rise at all. Oddly, the bread while not as full as it should be always turns out delicious. I would have the agree that the overall taste is the best cinnamon bread I have ever had. I am not using a mixer (all by hand), so maybe that is where my problem is?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirrin Peart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
It was so good. First bread I made and I did double the brown sugar and cinnamon and it turned out great. For yeast best to use warm milk like you would fix for a baby. If it is to hot the yeast won't set. My mom told me that bit of advice and it really works well. I also tempered the eggs into butter to make sure I did not end up making scramble eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very easy to make and it is great right out of the oven. It also makes great french toast because it is a slightly dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
it was wonderful I took it over to my grand kids and two loaf were gone mom and day did not get any so I made 4 loafs and everyone did get some. that was great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonsAvocados
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written & it turned out great! Had a nice crusty top, airy center & just the right amout of sweetness from the cinnaswirl! I plan on using this recipe often! This will make excellent French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I doubled the brown sugar and added 1 cup chopped pecans to the filling. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
WONDERFUL !!! Adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I wasn't impressed, bread didn't hold together well when baked due to filling, it seemed to unwind and make impossible to toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States