Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My whole family and I absoulutly LOVE this recipe ! i made for dessert and that loaf was gone ! LOL .. i really like this bread because it can be eaten as or with a dessert, snack, or even a breakfast !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was recommended to me on the Recipe Exchange this morning, and now, after eating several slices slathered with butter, I can add my five stars to this one. I pretty much did what tat2whttrsh did except that I used 2 cups of all-purpose and 2 cups of white whole wheat flour, and I added raisins to the filling. I know my hubby will love this toasted tomorrow morning. I'm also wondering if maybe this will change my granddaughters' tastes regarding raisins! Thanks, Nuggets, for recommending this to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inky86
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was my first time making bread and it came out awesome! Absolutely Delicious. Wouldn't change a thing. Planning on making this for my Hungarian in laws! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is the best!!! Have made it twice and came out perfect both times. Followed the recipe exactly as is...didn't have a loaf pan so just covered my baking tray with foil paper and it worked just fine. Tastes divine toasted with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I followed it nearly exactly - the changes I made were: 1) I proofed my yeast (milk+yeast+2 heaping tbsp sugar). 2) I increased the sugar amount in the dough to 1/3 cup total and the sweetness was JUST RIGHT! 3) I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dough itself 4) I added chopped walnuts and raisins (the walnuts added a delicious crunchiness and the raisins added some additional sweetness). Everything else was done exactly as the recipe dictates. This bread is phenomenal - mine wasn't dry at all! and I adore the thin crust and great flavor! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
this is SO delicious! I did have to add about 3/4 more flour than called for in order for it not to be gooey. It turned out perfect. Warm, moist, heavenly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This made GREAT french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The only deviations I made from this recipe were to let the bread rise a little longer each time, and to replace half the AP Flour with Whole Wheat-- and it turned out FANTASTICALLY. This is so simple and foolproof! Thank you wisweetp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very good recipe. Made dough in breadmaker and then baked in oven. I took the suggestions of other raters and doubled the filling. I also added almond slivers and grated semi-sweet chocolate to the filling. Yummy. The only issue is that I had to add 10min to cooking time even though it was in a convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jill and Scott
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is amazing! After I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk, I added the rest of the wet ingredients together and mixed well. I then mixed the flour and salt and added that to the wet ingredients. At this point I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips to the dough before mixing and allowing it to rise. I only had one glass baking dish, so I used a metal one as well. Both loaves turned out great and I didn't adjust the time for either. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States