Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made this twice now, and it's a keeper. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it a bit healthier. Used breadmaker to make the dough - so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gottacookthis
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! And the combination of the brown sugar & cinnamon warm and dripping in the center just added that special touch to the flavorful bread. I used a small-mixer dough hook to knead, so did it without a bread machine. I ended up leaving it to rise double the time too. Soooo glad i ran into this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottacookthis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was excellent. I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 fresh ground flour. Mine took closer to an hour for the second rising but turned out delicious! Soft and tender with a nice soft crust. I added raisins, but I might try some nuts next time. Can't wait for our morning toast. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I kept pretty much everything the same for this recipe, with a few exceptions. 1) I doubled the brown sugar/cinnamon filling and 2) added 1/2 cup raisins (so 1/4 C raisins per loaf) that I soaked in water that had cinnamon, cloves, and allspice so they were nice and plump. Also I would suggest rolling these loaves very tightly, otherwise when they rise and are baked, there are big hollow gaps between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good! I overbaked it a bit, but it's bc I had to have bf turn off the oven and he just left it in the oven after turning off. So completely our fault, but still very lovely bread. I doubled the cinnamon filling and would do that the same next time. This would also be lovely with nuts or raisins. Very pretty as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Delicious! It seems that our kids are asking to make this together every weekend. We double the recipe now so that it isn't gone before it's even cooled down. Our only edits to the recipe are throwing a teaspoon of cinnamon into the dough itself and adding twice amount of sugar / cinnamon filling. Of course the extra filling created a blow-out in the oven on the first attempt, so we only spread the filling about 3/4 of the way across the flattened dough prior to rolling. That keeps the cinnamon swirl inside the bread pretty well. Just for fun we cook it in our solar oven. It still gets nice and brown and doesn’t heat up the house in the summer, but takes about 50% longer. Really moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My whole family and I absoulutly LOVE this recipe ! i made for dessert and that loaf was gone ! LOL .. i really like this bread because it can be eaten as or with a dessert, snack, or even a breakfast !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was recommended to me on the Recipe Exchange this morning, and now, after eating several slices slathered with butter, I can add my five stars to this one. I pretty much did what tat2whttrsh did except that I used 2 cups of all-purpose and 2 cups of white whole wheat flour, and I added raisins to the filling. I know my hubby will love this toasted tomorrow morning. I'm also wondering if maybe this will change my granddaughters' tastes regarding raisins! Thanks, Nuggets, for recommending this to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inky86
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was my first time making bread and it came out awesome! Absolutely Delicious. Wouldn't change a thing. Planning on making this for my Hungarian in laws! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is the best!!! Have made it twice and came out perfect both times. Followed the recipe exactly as is...didn't have a loaf pan so just covered my baking tray with foil paper and it worked just fine. Tastes divine toasted with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States