Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful bread! I added 2 Tablespoons of cinnamon to the dough, but other than that followed the recipe. Tasted awesome! Definitely will be making this again. I mixed this in my bread machine through the dough cycle. Formed it into a loaf, let it rise, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
How can a recipe that's rated 5 stars by so many be bad? I followed this recipe exactly except I used bread flour and doubled the amount of brown sugar and cinnamon filing. This bread was amazing. It tasted kinda like a cinnamon roll minus the icing. This bread makes great toast also. Don't bother trying to halve this recipe. You'll want both loaves! I also bakes at 325 instead of 350 for only 25 minutes because I used dark metal bread pans. Excellent bread. I'll be making this bread often. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This recipe makes a wonderful sweet dough that can be used in many ways. The baked cinnamon loafs were delicious hot out of the oven, as well as toasted the next morning. By the suggestion of others I doubled the cinnamon and sugar for the filling. For me, the loafs still didn't have enough cinnamon flavor and will be increasing it to 4 teaspoons next time I make it. The 2/3 cups of brown sugar was perfect. I topped the buttered loafs with raw sugar before baking to give them a nice crunch on top. Roll dough tightly to give the loafs more swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent bread. I used bread flour, added raisins and baked it free form because I wanted a more rustic, chewy bread and it came out perfect. This was so good. I’m sure this will be excellent for French toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I'm a bread novice with a couple of failures under my belt, but I gave this one a shot anyway and it not only turned out, but it is *amazing bread.* So, so, so very yummy! Like many others, I proofed the yeast with the warm milk and sugar first (it was a month past its expiration date, so I wanted to make sure it did its thing!) and added about a cup of dried cranberries. I also used 3 c. of bread flour and 1 c. of whole wheat flour. And doubled the filling. Thank you, wisweetp for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Now this is good ... really, really good. I used my bread machine to make the dough and the measurements were bang on. No need for addtional flour or liquid, the only small change was subbing oil for the melted butter. I did however double the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture based on other reviews. No need to skimp on all that sugary goodness. The other half of the dough was made into cinnamon twists, which were delicious. Can't wait to try different variations on this perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing wisweetp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Really great recipe. I sub'd 2 cups of wheat flour for white, and bread was still really tender. The cinnamon/sugar mixture baked out a bit, but I think that may have been my fault for not tightening up the loaf before baking. I also decreased the oven temperature to 325 and baked for 25 minutes, because my loaf pans are dark (ie not glass).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samclark
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The day after baking, this bread takes on this really delicious crusty flakey texture on the outside, but still so soft on the inside from all that wonderful sugar and cinnamon. I didn't double the amount of filling, but I didn't measure it either. I mixed and matched until it looked and tasted right to me. Already have requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Second time making this. I didn't alter it other than to make one with cinnamon and the other with the cocoa powder both using 1/3c brown sugar. I love how soft this bread is even when using fresh grd whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! I used this recipe as a base. It's an extremely versatile and user friendly combination of ingredients. Out of habit, I always proof my yeast first. While that's proofing, I combine half the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients minus the salt in a stand up mixing bowl. Once proofed, I blend it with what's in the bowl and mix with a paddle attachment. Then I add the rest of the flour, the salt, and tossed in a BIG handful of quick oats and 5-6 tablespoons of wheat germ (so I wouldn't feel guilty eating it), then used the dough hook. I took suggestions from other readers and soaked 2 cups of dried cranberries and squeeze drained well. I added a shy 1/2 teaspoon of finely grated lime zest and combined with cranberries. After the first rise, I hand kneaded the berries and zest into the dough. After baking, and while the bread was still hot out of the oven, I liberally drizzled Vanilla Glaze (from this site) over both loaves and IMMEDIATELY sprinkled crushed granola into the still wet glaze. All I can say is, "WOWZA!" Thanks wisweetp for sharing your secrets for this extraordinary culinary treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States