Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
soooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made the dough in my bread machine. I used 1/4 cup more sugar then suggested because I was making it for a craft fair and wanted the bread itself to be sweet, not just the cinnamon mixture. I also cut them into peices after rolling it tightly and placed it into lined cupcake tins. They were perfect! I have never attempted "cinnamon rolls" before, and I probably never will now. This was just too perfect. :) I'm making them again to take on a family road trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a nice bread, but for us, nothing exciting. To be fair, I really wanted to add raisins but didn't have any and I think that would've made a huge difference. I increased the cinnamon/sugar amounts almost by 3 and there still just isn't alot of flavor to this bread. Nice texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only thing that should change about this recipe is the use of "stars" for rating. It should be little pants. How many pant sizes do you think you'll go up after making this recipe! If you make it once, you WILL make it again, and again, and again. DELICIOUS! I made it for dinner, and my husband has already called dibs on the remaining slices for his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I haven' made this yet-- hopefully next week- but wanted to ask a question... can this bread be made rolled as one longer thinner loaf, rather than a bread pan shape? Baked on a cookie sheet? l am tring to (attempt) to duplicate a rolled bread my motherinlaw used to make every year. She passed away & of course- recipe was never written. She made a nut roll and a prune jelly roll- long and not as fat as a bread pan bread. I am hoping this fits the bill as a "new tradition" in our family and want to surprise everyone at Christmas. I think making it as you state with cinnamon or cocoa will be a nice update. Thanks in advance for any advice you may have. My MIL was of HUngarian descent which is why I think this could be it ! I gave 5 stars as I know this will be good ; ). I'm especially eager to try it as french toast...yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have never had the knack for kneading dough, so my breadmaker saves me! I use it to mix, knead and raise the dough then remove it to pans to bake in the oven. I used quick rising yeast - this recipe turned out beautifully, it was very light and fluffy, just sweet enough. I'm looking forward to making again and trying out some of the variations suggested. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ramore, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. After making this it transported me back to my childhood and the special days that my Grandmother would make home made cinnamon buns. Due to personal preference only, I changed up the recipe by using bread flour instead of all purpose flour and feel that it gives the bread a "fluffier" texture. I think all purpose flour will be just fine though. I did follow another user's suggestion to proof the yeast first. Allow it to dissolve. I proofed my yeast by melting the butter and warming the milk at the same time and making sure that before I added the yeast that the liquids had time to cool to just above room temperature (no hotter than 115 degrees and no cooler than 80 degrees to have optimum temperatures for the yeast to perform properly). While the yeast was proofing I put the flour in the mixer and added the sugar and salt. After proofing the yeast, I added the egg and vanilla and wisked as instructed then added the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Then followed the recipe the rest of the way. *Hint* Do not skimp on the filling, it's better with as much of the butter/cinnamon/brown sugar as you can get in it. 5 Stars all the way, thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by path501

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this bread this morning and it could not be any easier. The trick the other poster mentioned about letting it rise in the oven, with the light on, is great! I did not proof the yeast , just mixed it with all the other dry ingredients and it rose beautifully. I did experiment a bit and added chopped bittersweet chocolate to one loaf along with the cinnamon mixture. To die for! I did double the amount for the sugar-cinnamon mixture--2/3 cup brown sugar and 1and 1/2 tsp.cinnamon. It was the perfect amount for my taste. Oh my, wait until your kitchen starts to smell with the aroma of this bread. I definitely want to make French toast with the raisin loaf. I really don't know how our mothers and grandmothers existed without stand mixers with dough hooks---glad I have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have been making bread for about 10 years now and OMG this is one of the best I've ever made. I made it exactly as stated (except I did add the yeast to the milk) and since I don't have a stand mixer I kneaded it all by hand. I had to add a little more milk to get the dough really elastic, probably because I live in a dry climate, AZ. I also thought the amount of filling called for was just right--I didn't double it. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We all love this bread! It is so easy to make and always turns out delicious! I double the brown sugar and cinnamon for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States