Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These were FANTASTIC!!!! The dough was so easy to work with and had a very nice texture to it. I did substitute oil for the butter in the bread recipe. I have used both water one time and soy milk instead of the milk in a number of different instances. Both came out great. I brushed light non-hydrogenated margerine instead of butter onto the dough, sprinkled it with a generous amount of brown sugar and cinnamon, rolled it up tightly and cut it into 1 1/2 inch slices and placed them into well sprayed muffin tins to rise for 35 minutes. I brushed the tops with an egg wash and baked it for about 12-15 minutes - DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is fantastic cinnamon bread. It makes the best french toast, too. I've received many compliments and my kids beg for me to make it. A great comfort food for winter. Made the dough in my breadmaker then followed rest of recipe as written. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have made this bread several times. I always bring loaves of it when I visit my children. It is a favorite of my whole family. I did not make any changes. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this wonderful recipe and it is all everyone said it would be. However, unless my yeast is getting old, I would add 2 T. Yeast as it did not rise very well. If you look at the picture of the bread, it is rather flat. I think this addition will do the trick. Wonderful flavour with added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe on the weekend and it was fabulous! I doubled the cinnamon as we love it with lots of cinnamon. It turned out so good, that I ended making it 3 days in a row! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used bread flour instead of all purpose and kneaded the dough by hand. It came out wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlyingFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This bread is DELICIOUS! The only change I made was to double the filling and lightly brush the loaves with melted butter once they're out of the oven to help keep the tops from being too dry. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My Hungarian grandmother is a tough critic, and she quite enjoyed it. I ran out of butter (guess I should have checked before hand...) and finished with applesauce- couldn't taste the difference. The only negative thing (if you could call it that) is that the bread needed a good 5-10 minutes more in the oven. Overall, gooey goodness! Both loaves disappeared within hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was just right, not too sweet, it is exceptionally delicious with melted butter in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
simply FINOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Cegled, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States