Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I'm the submitter of the recipe. I'm so glad many of you have enjoyed our family recipe. I've put practically everything under the sun in this bread! A favorite of my family is chopped bittersweet chocolate and dried tart cherries. It's divine. It's also good to add cocoa to the dough to make chocolate bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm rating 3 stars because the dough was just so difficult to work with. The end result was pretty good although a little on the dry side. If I tried again I'd be inclined to add a bit more liquid and I might try it in my bread machine. My son is gobbling it up but I wasn't thrilled with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This makes the most wonderful cinnamon raisin bread! I added the dry ingredients into the wet the second time I made these and they were even better than the first loaves. I added 1 cup of soaked raisins in the last few minutes of kneading. I doubled the cinnamon sugar filling. Wow! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
these are really tasty, but I don't think the cook time is accurate. Next time I make these I will put them in the oven for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These were FANTASTIC!!!! The dough was so easy to work with and had a very nice texture to it. I did substitute oil for the butter in the bread recipe. I have used both water one time and soy milk instead of the milk in a number of different instances. Both came out great. I brushed light non-hydrogenated margerine instead of butter onto the dough, sprinkled it with a generous amount of brown sugar and cinnamon, rolled it up tightly and cut it into 1 1/2 inch slices and placed them into well sprayed muffin tins to rise for 35 minutes. I brushed the tops with an egg wash and baked it for about 12-15 minutes - DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is fantastic cinnamon bread. It makes the best french toast, too. I've received many compliments and my kids beg for me to make it. A great comfort food for winter. Made the dough in my breadmaker then followed rest of recipe as written. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have made this bread several times. I always bring loaves of it when I visit my children. It is a favorite of my whole family. I did not make any changes. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this wonderful recipe and it is all everyone said it would be. However, unless my yeast is getting old, I would add 2 T. Yeast as it did not rise very well. If you look at the picture of the bread, it is rather flat. I think this addition will do the trick. Wonderful flavour with added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe on the weekend and it was fabulous! I doubled the cinnamon as we love it with lots of cinnamon. It turned out so good, that I ended making it 3 days in a row! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used bread flour instead of all purpose and kneaded the dough by hand. It came out wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlyingFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States