Kala (Black-Eyed Pea Fritters from the Dutch Antilles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I used canned beans. I cooked up some breakfast sausage and ground it into the mix. I added chili powder, garlic and some chopped red bell pepper. My wife thought it was a little dry . I served mine with ranch dressing dipping sauce. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I think it needs a dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Took the advice of others and added LOTS of seasoning, but they were still kind of bland. Wouldn't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this recipe for the first time last night with several changes. I used a bag of frozen black eyed peas, thawed in water with a 1/4 cup dehydrated minced onion. Pureed this in blender, then added a tablespoon minced garlic, a teaspoon of dried thyme, the salt, cayenne pepper (also used black pepper). I skipped the egg whites and used 2 tablespoons of flax seed meal instead. I also added 1/4 cup breadcrumbs, and fried the fritters in coconut oil. They were so delicious! My vegan daughter got mad after the first bite because she thought they were crab cakes, which they sort of tasted like. My diners flipped when I told them the fritters were made of black eyed peas. I served them with a vegan mac and cheese and steamed broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKSHMI5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Really liked this recipe, will definitely make again. (For those who prefer more of a spiced flavor would recommend adding a pinch to a teaspoon more of it to the batter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABIGYRL5
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a good recipe and I made a few changes. Before I made these fritters I fried some fish and I used the leftover grease to make the Kala in which added a nice flavor. I did not make balls because there wasn't enough oil so I made them into patties. The kala tasted ok but not much flavor. I think it would have been better had the flour been seasoned. Next time Im going to season the flour with some salt and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABIGYRL5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
not verry appetizing, i tried adding more seasoning but it didn't help. maybe if they were baked and you salted the water you soaked the beans in it would be more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For Black Eyed Peas this is pretty good. I added Jamaican Jerk Spice to mine for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States