Kaiserschmarrn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Hi there. Austriaphiles.Just got back from Carinthia, and felt moved to give this recipe a try. Despite being a newbie at this cooking game, I even made my own peach (actually 'paraguyos') compote. The preparation is time consuming, so organise yourself well in advance. Flipping the pancake is not as easy as you think. Had to cut it into quarters and then flip them individually. Might also have put the gas on a bit high, so next time a minute less on 'side one'. For a first attempt, it tasted good, but looked a bit too 'bronzed' in places. If the restaurant in Klagenfut had dished up the same thing, I would have sent it back.....However.... overall pleased with myself. Regards from sunny Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpainHighlander

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Even a true Bavarian admitted that was an excellent Kaiserschmarrn! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is really good and so easy! The best new recipe I've come across lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I tried this in Munich for the first time a few years back while I was there on business. This recipe is superb ! I prefer it with nothing but powdered sugar, but I am not a big berry guy. Anyway, try it,,, its delicious and quite easy to make. it,,, its deliciuos and quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My fiance and I love German/Austrian stuff so found and tried this. I actually made it for breakfast, not dessert. No rum on hand, but had it with fresh berries, syrup, and nutella. Schmeckt mir gut! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngloSaxonGyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
amazing, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I haven't had Kaiserscharrn in over a decade! We would always have it for dinner on Friday nights during lent with canned peaches on the side. Thanks so much for posting the recipe. This recipe was super easy and exactly how I remembered it! Took me right back to my childhood. I used my mom's old cast iron pan for a super golden crust. Sehr Gut!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tequila1930
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Tried on the weekend - not bad at all! The recipe is easy to follow - thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yummy! My husband and I ate this in Munich this summer, and I've been wanting to recreate it ever since. I'm not a fan of raisins and didn't have any on hand, so I left them out (just put in a teaspoon of rum), and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
i love kaiserschmarrn, it's one of my fav's for breakfast. although i boil my raisins for a couple of seconds in the rum and then strain. this recipe is the way i make mine as well. i do put powdered sugar over mine and eat it with apple sauce. ps i am german and yes, we like to think this is one of OUR dishes but it's not, it really does come from austria :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States