Kai Kang Dang (Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this last night and it was very good. My husband and I like our food very spicy, so in addition to the red curry paste I added one Fresno chili. I also used 1 can (2 cups total) coconut milk, rather than the 2 1/2 cups called for. It still made a lot of sauce. I changed the veggies to green beans and yellow bell pepper. If you use bell pepper it should go in later than the other veggies or else it will get mushy. I'll definitely make this again - it was just as good as the Thai takeout we get all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Perfect! UPDATE: I had a green curry recipe all picked out tonight and found myself out of green curry paste at the last minute. I revisited this recipe and was thrilled once more. I had to improvise the veggies again, and I amped the curry for heat, but the sauce itself is excellent made as written - especially when served over jasmine rice. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I have to apologise to Meghan - intended to follow this recipe exactly, but lost my nerve. Anyway, the way I made it, it was delicious; a bit different and my family loved it. I used low fat coconut milk, which is a bit watery; added it all at once to the curry paste and boiled a while to reduce. I added the chicken pieces right at the end and simmered gently until just done. I halved the fish sauce and basil - it seemed a bit much. The end result had a well balanced and delicate flavour. BUT: I've dared myself to try the full amount of fish sauce and basil next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really, really enjoyed this. But I didn't rate this FIVE stars because there is room for improvement in the recipe as it is. First, I did find the sauce a bit mild for my taste. It lacked a "wow" factor. It was still super delish, like Thai comfort food though. Second, and this is the big reason for the four stars, I think that the cooking instructions need to be improved upon. If you cut your chicken into bite-size pieces and then brown in the curry-coconut mixture, trust me, your chicken will be cooked through without an additional 15 min. of simmer time. Additionally, you do not need to pre-thaw your veggies, and even frozen, a 15 minute simmer just kills their texture, color and taste. Finally, like others said one can (2 cups) of coconut is more than adequate for the entire recipe. I even increased my chicken to 1 1/2 lbs, and added a box of shitakes to my veggies and everything was still swimming in sauce, and usually, I like a lot of sauce. Here is how I would alter this: 1. Use one can of coconut milk total. I would still use half cup to cook chicken in, and then just add the rest of the can later. 2. Increase the curry paste to 2 or 3 T 2. After my chicken has been browned, I would add everything except the peppers, basil and lime juice, and then cook for only about five minutes--just until the veggies are done. Oh, and I wouldn't bother to thaw them first. 3. I would add the red peppers at the very end, then cut the heat off and pop in the basil and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fords, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Amazing! I make this all of the time and it is a huge hit with everyone who tries it. My only suggestion is using lots of frozen peas, the taste goes really well with the curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
i, like many here, used only one can of "light" coconut milk. i can't imagine using two, it would have been way too much. i also used half fish sauce and half low-sodium soy. i doubled the amount of curry paste...we like it spicy! (served with Thai chili sauce at the table, which everyone used to spice it up!) i did not used veggies, but did add half a white onion, sliced thin. served over Jasmine rice. i almost never eat seconds, but i could not get enough of this. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe that can easily be altered, depending on what ingredients you have on hand. I didn't have any frozen veggies, so I added a can of baby corn and some fresh mushrooms along with the bell peppers. Don't be scared of the amount of basil and fish sauce. They balance out the dish very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This. Is. Fantastic. I simply added fresh snap peas and extra bell pepper in place of the mixed frozen vegetables, and increased the amount of curry paste. This is by far the meal of choice for my husband and I, and everyone else I have made it for has raved about it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Awesome! I didn't have any fish sauce or bamboo shoots so I used 3 Tbsp mashed sardines and 3/4 cup sliced celery instead. I only used one 13.5 can of coconut milk rather than the full amount listed. This was so delicious, easy, and cost effective that I can't wait to make it for guest next. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Organic Nut
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Delicious delicious delicious. I used waaayyyy more curry than it asked for. I think it provided more flavor as well. I didnt use bamboo shoots and I didnt use the lime juice that it asked for. I really enjoyed this recipe and next time I'll probably use fresh veggies as frozen veggies get mushy too fast and most thai cuisine uses fresh vegetables anyway. I thought this recipe tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States